P is for PO’d at the PO


Sorry… kind of crass, but I just HAD to do it.  Forgive me.

A lot of people complain about the US Postal Service.  They cite lost packages and letters, lousy service, and a myriad of other things.  Let me tell you.  I hate summer.  We have the nicest postal gal on the planet.  She is a hard worker and a great gal.  But in summer, she keeps a cold bottle of water in the mail bag.  Yep.  ALL my stuff arrives wet.  Every. Day.  Hate it.

Today, a friend of mine and I were recalling an instance where the post office delivered her package (sent by me) to Sierra Trading Company instead of to her house.  Here’s where it gets interesting.  She called the company (not the post office calling to correct it for her– she had to do it) to find out how to get it.  They informed her that it could be weeks before it was found (i.e. no one was going to look, but when they ran across it they’d give it back).  How generous of them.  I have always been a bit irked at their lack of concern for company reputation.  Honestly, if I was told that a package to someone else was received by my company, I’d be digging through every thing that we had until I found it.  That day.  And I’d drive it over myself.  Why?  CUSTOMER SERVICE.  They’d remember me.  They’d remember me doing the Post Office’s job for them.  And they just might say, “hmmm I think I’ll order from those helpful guys.  I know their customer service is top notch.”

Here’s the killer.  My opinion of Sierra Trading Company’s customer service was definitely negatively affected by something that wasn’t even their fault.  What I don’t understand is why I put up with that kind of bad service, week after week, year after year, from the post office.

I mean think about it.  The Post Office mis-delivers a package and I am irked.  I am.  Really.  But… when the innocent party doesn’t extend excellent customer service to someone who isn’t a customer, I’m ready to consider never doing business with them.  WHY am I not willing to make that same sacrifice for the post office?

If you go to your local post office and complain about a lost letter or package, you are likely to get the equivalent of, “Tuff luck, lady.  NEXT!”  Seriously.  I know there are exceptions.  We actually have a decent place here who will go above what they consider to be the “call of duty” to search for what they don’t think they have to.  It irritates me.  I paid you to deliver something.  It isn’t there.  You delivered it elsewhere.  WHY isn’t the postal guy digging through the warehouse for that package and making it right?

I don’t think it’s going to change, either.  Have you ever seen Larkrise to Candleford?    Let me tell you; the days of that kind of commitment to mail service is LONG gone.

I have to decide if (at least in so much as I can) I am going to continue to support our postal service.  It might be time to take every bit of my mail service that I can to Fed Ex or UPS.  Can I give up all USPS? No.  Sometimes you HAVE to mail a letter.  It’d be cost prohibitive to mail every single piece of stuff in a package.  But that which I can…

Time to figure out the costs…  If nothing else, so that I’m not a hypocrite about this stuff anymore.  I wonder if I’ll have the guts to make the break…

4 thoughts on “P is for PO’d at the PO

  1. I have a firend who has been a carrier for the Postal Service for decades. He is an up and abover if there ever was one. BUT, he is circumspect when it comes to going beyond the call when in view of other postal workers because the crab-in-the-bucket syndrome abounds. (Disclaimer: I know all union workers are not slackers but enough are to give the whole system a bad name.) This friend has told me that firing someone in the PO is near impossible, and if another worker is seen as showing off by giving great customer service, life can get very difficult very fast for tthat worker.

    Laziness explains Sierra Trading Co.

  2. So ridiculous that all those workers basically build their work ethic on “as long as we all suck, we’re equally awesome.” The postal worker who delivered to our house for a number of years was incredibly rude. She drove up while my father was sitting on the porch one day, and yelled out why didn’t he come to take the mail from her. Seriously. She actually complained about having to lean toward our mailbox.

    I generally use fed-ex. The one in my area has polite employees and good customer service.

  3. It’s sad but true that the PO is not what it used to be. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. You can see my alphabet at myqualityday.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

