H is for


Thanks to Wikipedia commons for use of the photo.

Hollyhocks.

They’re trying to come back.  Again.  About ten years ago, someone gave us some hollyhock seeds from their plant.  Challice planted them.  They grew.  Tall.  Every single year.  We do nothing to them.  We don’t prune, we don’t weed, and frankly, half the time we don’t water.  Speaking of which, I’m going to have Ethan turn on the water right now.

I love that they do this.  It is just doing what God designed.  It’s beautiful.  They’re a lovely rich magenta when they bloom–darker than the flowers on the right.

You know, little things like flowers that show up without work on my part just make my day happy.  I wonder if I have ever stopped to thank the Lord for that little gift.  I have a sick feeling that I haven’t.  Well, I’m doing it now.  Thank you for flowers that brighten my doorstep.  I bet my mail lady likes seeing them too.

To see what other bloggers are doing this month, check out the HUGE list of bloggers HERE!

4 thoughts on “H is for

    • To be honest, I don’t know. However, I have had several people imply that they are. Once you GET them growing, they seem to keep going. We don’t give ours ANY attention and definitely not even consistent water. We live in the desert with very cold winters and very hot summers… DRY on both ends. They still flourish. It’s weird, but I love ’em. Can’t hurt to try it!

Leave a Reply

