Armed and Painfulness


Well, it’s not a good play on words, but it’ll do.  Yesterday was my first Friday.  My first day for biceps, back, and I did do the forgotten calf stretch thingies from Wednesday.  Hey, I am TRYING here.

I waited until today to post results.  ARMS ARE SORE.  However, they are not as sore as the first day.  So, I think I did a good job knowing just how far to go.  That has to count for something.  I think I have a formula worked out.  See, I do three sets of fifteen repetitions on all my machines.  If I have to fight through any in the first set, it’s too much.  It needs to work something like this.

Set 1-  No fights but feel the burn.
Set 2-  Fight to get in the last 2-3.
Set 3-  Fight to get in the last 4 or 5.

Any more than that and the muscle soreness really does make it impossible to sleep well.  I think that’s a bit counter productive since I’m striving for ENERGY here.

I also had to rethink things on the treadmill.  In everything, I went up 5 lbs this week.  That felt great.  I’m making progress and improvement.  I want to keep that up!  But upping my speed got me a reduced walk on Thursday, so I decided to try it another way yesterday.  I started at 2.6 mph (I usually start at 2.8) and worked up another .1 every five minutes until I’d done five at 3.0 and then worked back down to 2.8.  It worked!  In fact, I got zero calf burn (when sometimes I get a little) so next time I’ll try starting at 2.7 and see if I can hold 3.0 for 10 minutes.

Anyway, I’m feeling pretty confident despite the arms that are seriously ticked at me.  They aren’t revolting (aside from certain flabby issues) and I am not considering amputation, so all in all… good workout.

Oh, and you know how people always say that if you have flabby arms, work ’em out.  If you need to reduce your gut, do crunches.  If your thighs have been mistaken for claps of thunder, start jogging… well, I’ve always thought that was ridiculous.  I mean, there’s a good chance you’ll just add muscle behind all that fat while you lose weight in the one place that you can’t afford to lose it because that is how Murphy’s Law works.  Well, today I realized that my theory HAS to be correct.  My finger muscles HAVE to be the most fit muscles I have.  After all, I use them pretty much all day.  Have you seen my hands?  UTTER CHUBBINESS.  And for proof, I will now humiliate myself and show this video.

4 thoughts on “Armed and Painfulness

  1. To do with the video: Tell me why you score your cards before you fold them with the bone folder.
    I like your voice. It sounds nothing like I imagined… which is always the case for me.

  2. Some of my paper is VERY thick (that is one I think). If I score and then fold and crease with the bone folder, then I get a smooth edge with all but one brand of paper (Gina K 120 lb does not crease nicely for me. I think it is our lack of moisture in our air–humidity hovers between 4-7% on most days). So, if I score first, I get a smooth edge.

    And everyone’s voice sounds different recorded than it does in the same room.

  3. I think we should embrace our chubby fingers. Not literally, of course. But I’m right there with ya. Mine have been chubby since I was a child and it appears they will likely always be this way.

    I want to know if you did your straight scoring freehand or with a guide because if it is freehand, I am super impressed. I can’t seem to do anything straight to save my life.

Leave a Reply

