Third Time Isn’t Charming


Just sayin’.  Look, I don’t want this to be a continual whine about how horrible it is to workout.  I don’t want to go on and on about how much pain I am in.  Today was my first true failure.  I don’t like failure.

So, the first thing I did was squats.  Fifteen.  Legs weak.  Fifteen more. Legs were worthless almost.  However, they got even more worthless when the guy tells me I’m not going down “straight.”  I’m bending at the waist.  OOPS!  I thought I was going straight!  So, I try again.  I couldn’t walk to the next apparatus.  Which was, leg curls of some kind.  Three sets of fifteen.  It took me at least twenty minutes to do all sets.  The next was pretty easy, but you’re supposed to wipe down the equipment between uses.  The bottle was on the other side of the room.  I had to hobble over there.  I hobbled not because I was in pain, but because my legs were jelly.  I’d heard of jelly legs.  I am alive to tell you that they are NOT a myth.

Everywhere I walked, my legs buckled beneath me.  Then it was time for shoulders.  Did I mention that my shoulders were SCREAMING in pain from yesterday?  Yeah.  Not good.  I sat at the first one and after much too long, managed to get one hand on the grip.  Second one came.  I barely got my fist around it.  Now push up.  Um, not happening.  It felt like I’d rip a muscle.  Now, no I don’t think I would have but it FELT like I would have.  I physically could not make me do it.  After ten minutes, and not being able to push up once, I gave up.  Onto the next.  Did it.  Barely, but did it.  Onto the next.  Now frankly, the last one was too easy.  Really, it was.  It was so easy the machine didn’t know what to do with me, but I figured my arms hurt enough already that all I wanted was the motions, not weight resistance.  I didn’t want to make them scream more.  I did anyway and that was with a mere 10 lbs.  10 measly little pounds.

Then I went to the trainer guy and asked what to do about the treadmill.  I mean, I could barely make it across the room.  Was it worth TRYING or not?  I didn’t want to be stupid.  He told me to go on the bike.  So, I rode 2.5 miles.  That works.  I like that.  And, by that point, I was no longer unable to walk to the car!  YAY!

I ended up getting a nice nap immediately.  I am now starving.

Tomorrow… maybe tomorrow I can go to bed without crying when I attempt to turn over.  My arms hate me.  I hate them.  It’s mutual.

3 thoughts on “Third Time Isn’t Charming

  1. In a few weeks, they won’t hurt anymore and you will be able to do more sets. Then your trainer will add weight.

    *evil cackle*

    Just kidding… you know I think you are doing great! I enjoy reading about it.

  2. I got up and did fifty push ups cold turkey the other day. My arms have been screaming at me since. I even did fifty yesterday. They are girl push-ups. And, yesterday, I did that alternating thing with one arm up on something and the other on the floor. Jelly arms. I am doing it because you said to. But, my body is mad at you for inspiring me to do it. Just letting you know!!
    Oh, and I did 10 lunges for each side, and my legs are angry about it.

    • Keep going. I’m serious. Keep going. I’m trying to figure out how on earth I can do it today. I took yesterday off– Adrienne was here. And then since I couldn’t walk, I thought maybe giving me a break would be good. Still can’t walk today. So, I’m thinking about stretches here and a walk– er hobble– or two around the block so that they have to work a little. I just hate not going in because every day I don’t makes it easier not to the next day.

      GO!

Leave a Reply

