Bringing Her Home: Music Review


Title:  Bringing Her Home
Artists:  Kaira & Kendra T—  (With their father, Ken in one song)
Producer’s Synopsis: Bringing Her Home is a debut album, recorded to raise funds to help the orphanage in Lubumbashi and for our own child’s adoption.  It’s a mixture of hymns and traditional, Celtic, instrumental pieces.

When I heard about this project, I heard strong disclaimers like, “The girls are not professionals or proteges, they are just girls who love music and want to try to help in some way.”  Dell stressed repeatedly that it was an unprofessional and simple production.

I confess, that made no sense to me when I heard about recording equipment, sound this and mP3 uploads and such.  However, what do I know, right?  I know what it would sound like if MY kids did a recording to fund something and I expected it to be significantly better but still a “child’s production.”  I was wrong.

This isn’t a professional recording of the caliber you’d get from Julliard students or a philharmonic company, but compared to the CDs I’ve bought from stores, I liked it far better.  The quality is much higher than I expected.  Yes, the musicians make mistakes, but honestly, MOST of those you do not hear unless you’re listening for them.  You will be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this recording after reading the producer’s many caveats and warnings.  When I thought about it, my first question was to wonder why I preferred it to more polished playing.  I mean, yes, I have an emotional investment in these girls, but I am unlikely to sing something’s praises simply because I like the person who did it.  I’m just not that nice.

After much reflection, I realized that part of it is the selection.  They really did choose a nice variety of songs– most of which I know and love– and arrangements of the songs that were clear and distinct.  Too often Celtic music is obscured by “flowery” arrangements of notes that seem effusive and clutter the melody.

The offerings on the disk include:

  • Amazing Grace
  • A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
  • Danny Boy
  • French Cathedrals
  • Fairy Dance
  • Spanish Lady
  • Scotland the Brave
  • My Wild Irish Rose
  • The Garten Mother’s Lullaby
  • Irish Washer Woman
  • Robin’s Waltz
  • Spring Blessings
  • Jesus Loves Me
  • Planxty Irwin
  • Raining
  • Garden of Promise
  • Be Thou My Vision
  • This Is My Father’s World
  • Red Wing
  • The Star of the Country Down
  • Scarborough Faire

I couldn’t help singing

Drums in my heart are drummin,
I hear the bagpipes hummin,
My Bonnie Lassie’s comin over the sea.
My heart with her she’s bringin,
I hear the blue bells ringin,
Soon we’ll be highland flingin,
My love and me.

Chorus:
I’ll meet her at the shore,
Playin the pipes for her,
Dressed in a kilt and a tam o’shanter too.
Drums in my heart are drummin,
I hear the bagpipes hummin,
My Bonnie Lassie’s comin, comin to me,

Somewhere a ship and crew,
Sails o’er the ocean blue,
Bringing, oh, bringing,
My bonnie back to me.
That’s why the drums are drummin,
That’s why the pipes are hummin,
My Bonnie Lassie’s comin, comin to me.

Chorus

Sad are the lads she’s leavin,
Many a sigh they’re heavin,
Even the heather’s grievin, cryin with dew.
She’s left her native highland,
To come and live in my land,
She’ll love the folks who smile,
And say, “how-de-do”.

Chorus

This just fits, doesn’t it?  “She’s left her native highland to come and live in my land…” 

Another thing I liked was that they played each piece once– sometimes twice– and ended it.  The songs didn’t continue forever in a seeming attempt to fill a long CD like so many I’ve seen.  They weren’t abruptly short– just a pleasant piece to enjoy without becoming burdened by it.

The child this family had planned to adopt has been sent from the country to Ethiopia.  Their hearts are broken for the child they had already grown to love.  After much prayer and discussion, the second child they had considered will now be coming to their home.  Their adoption paperwork had always included the possibility of this second child, but the local officials considered adopting two to be suspect– possible child trafficking, so they chose little “Kivren” and closed the door on little Zephanie.  It now seems that the door is open for Zephanie to become Kiffanie and to join the T- family.  🙂

The proceeds of the donations help fund their adoption AND support the orphanage in Lubumbashi.  You may donate to receive a “hard copy” CD or mp3 files.  Of everything you could do, however, prayer is what the family is most eager to receive.

I will be giving away a copy of this lovely CD right here.  Just leave a comment and let me know which song you hope to hear most.

For those wishing to donate, you can go to the website to find their “button” or you may DONATE by clicking this link.  🙂

16 thoughts on “Bringing Her Home: Music Review

  1. While I would probably recognize a good amount of these when hearing them, I’m not familiar with a lot of the names. I would love to hear Amazing Grace though, since all of the children would recognize and sing along with that one =)

  2. Pingback: An Album Review and Contest « Harp & Hammers

  3. I completely agree with your review, Chautona. In fact, my husband paid the CD a high compliment (without even knowing WHO was playing) when he reached over and had the CD start over in the car stereo instead of having it go to the next disc.

    My favorite song on here is Danny Boy, but all of them are lovely. I highly recommend this CD and am seriously considering the purchase of more for my Christmas list!

  4. Pingback: Giveaway on Wednesday |

  5. I have to pick just ONE song?

    I guess I’ll say “Be Thou My Vision”

    (and then “Danny Boy” and then “Scarborough Faire” and then “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God” and then “Amazing Grace” and then… )

    WOW! What a GREAT selection!

  6. As silly as it sounds Jesus Loves Me lol. Right now Hartley is so sweet singing Jesus Loves Me all the time and he would love love to hear it.

Leave a Reply

