Keep Walking…


Something about the wall… keep walking…. yeah I’m not sure what comes next but it rhymes with wall… It’s plain to see that something, something small… so keep walking, but you won’t knock down our wall!  (I think).  Yeah.  Not trying to knock down any walls.  Jericho is safe from me… unless it should fear my thunder thighs.  Hmmm…

Ok, so I’ve learned a few things in my exercise journey.  First, as a-typical as I can be about a lot of things (including with my asthma no less), I am not the “atypical results” person that they show on commercials for weight loss gurus.   I’m a pretty realistic person.  I figured it’d be weeks or even months before a pound or two disappeared.  However, like all humans, there was that part of me that would have been absolutely overjoyed to wake up two or three weeks into this, pull up m pants, and have them fall right back down.  Yeah.  That sounds pretty amazing.  Well, it’s not going to happen.  Did I think it would?  Nope.  But, there’s always that tiny bit of hope that it’ll happen anyway.  Yeah.  Springy hope is eternally optimistic… and springy.

On a brighter side, while my pants didn’t fall around my ankles due to amazing weight loss, my new jeans do come off without me unbuttoning now. This is definitely good news!  WOOT.

Tuesday-  I didn’t walk.  Yeah, yeah, I know.  Lazy bum and all that.  Well, ya see, we went to LA today.  Yeah.  LA.  You know, the land of the 210, the 5, the 10, and the 14?  I walked up and down a street in San Marino waiting for a tow truck to pick up our ailing vehicle.  I then walked ALL OVER Ikea.  found the items we needed.  Wasn’t sure about the length of one.  Purchased the others.  Walked back to the car.  Checked it.  They’d fit.  Walked BACK to the store, BACK to the self-loading area, got my boxes, and walked BACK TO THE CAR.  Also walked to and from the service department at the car dealer in Lancaster, but considering I was riding with my knees under my chin in order for us to manage to get that long box in the car, I was happy to walk it… nice and slow… anything to prolong the hour and a half of “wishbone position.”  I wasn’t interested in laboring.  I’m not even pregnant!

Wednesday-  Braelyn came home early.  This normally doesn’t mean diddly or squat, but since we are sans vehicle until the lovely service department in Lancaster fixes our car and extorts extracts 2300 bucks from us for the privilege of having said work done.  So, I walked a bit early.  Two lovely miles.  I discovered something since Friday/Saturday/Sunday’s recuperation from the evils of asthmatic smoke inhalation.  It’s a set back.  Huge.  I actually found myself panting… gasping even.  But, I went the two miles and aside from a headache, I’m good.  I’ll take it.  The cool thing about this whole walking thing is what happens in my thought processes.  Sometimes I pray, other times I “write” in my head, but tonight I really went over parts of my life and thought about what I might need to do to make them how I want my life to be.  Coolio.

Thursday-  Another cool night.  I decided that since the car was here, I’d walk a little early again so it’d be warmer.  I wore long sweat type pants and a long sleeved t-shirt.  I was coldish when I got home but fine while I was walking.  This was one of those nights where my thoughts didn’t really help.  It was just boring.  Oh well, boring is good now and then.  Three miles though.  I went three miles!  Since tomorrow we might get home kind of late and I might be tired, that’s probably a good thing.  I was struggling a bit around mile two, but that last half mile was easy peasy.  Really, the last mile was pretty easy.  It’s odd how when you get near the starting place for your last lap, it seems like such a huge undertaking to turn around.  But once you’ve turned and started your last lap, it’s no biggie.  And, the final half mile back is often really the easiest.  Odd…

Friday–  Oh, it was a good day.  I took a walk after dinner with Lorna and Kevin to get shaved ice.  1.5 mile round trip.  Then later, Challice stopped by and decided to walk with me so we did another 2.5 miles.  FOUR miles in a day!  We had a great time chatting and a lovely BBQ steak sandwich afterward.  🙂  I was hungry.  I was also at my lowest weight today since starting.  🙂

Saturday-  Braelyn and I went for a walk tonight.  It was a great time of talking, listening, learning, and just enjoying being with my daughter.  She’s just a lot of fun and I don’t get to spend enough time with my girls now that they’re older, so it was a lot of fun.  Three miles too!  We went early, so there were quite a few people on “my” path.  I do prefer the privacy of the later walks, but it was worth the trade-off to get to spend the time with Braelyn.

Sunday-  Just before I left, I realized that my toe appears to be broken.  I slammed it hard a couple of days ago, and hadn’t really noticed pain with it until tonight when I was pulling on my socks.  I think the swelling is down so it can move and … hurt.  By the time I started walking, it was fine again.  Maybe I just jammed it.  I think it’s broken though.  It feels like my toes do when I break them.  Yeah, I do it every couple of years.  Weird.  Anyway, I walked, making sure I kept my stride normal.  Shins were killing me.  OUCH!  At half a mile, I was wishing I was walking near home again… just a tenth and voila.  Not here…  I had the whole half mile to go.  I didn’t start limping by the end of the mile but it was getting close.  I have NO idea why.  Hopefully tomorrow will be normal again.

Monday-  Another painful night of walking.  One measley mile.  Oh well, that’s one more mile than I would have walked a month ago or so.  That has to count for something.  I’ve thought it through and the only difference is that On Friday I walked with Kevin and Challice.  On Saturday, I walked with Braelyn.  They all have longer legs than I do.  Maybe I was just subconsciously “trying to keep up” and ended up walking faster than usual or took longer strides or something.    Since I was in enough pain that I wasn’t walking normally by the time I got done, tomorrow I won’t walk.  I’ll give the stupid legs the night off, but I don’t want to.  Then again, I don’t want another night of barely a mile walking.  It seems a bit wasteful to drive nearly a mile and a half, walk a mile, and then drive the mile and a half back.  See!  So, maybe after a night off I’ll be back to normal.  Gonna try it anyway.  Dad burn it.


2 thoughts on “Keep Walking…

  1. Keep walking, but you won’t knock down our wall!
    Keep walking, but it isn’t gonna fall!
    It’s plain to see, your brains are very small –
    To think walking, will keep knocking down our wall!

    I get that in my head all the time, reading your walking posts! You’re doing great!! Keep it up! 😀

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

Leave a Reply

