All Day Long…


One of the primary reasons, if not THE primary reason that we homeschool is because of Deuteronomy chapter six.  It’s a familiar verse; we’ve all heard it.  Teach these things… diligently… as you walk by the way, lie down, rise up.  Basically all day, every day.  Do it.  I can’t do that if my kids are out of the house and committed to work and projects to school after classes for the majority of their waking hours.  I don’t believe it is a sin to outsource our childrens’ education.  I think I need to make that clear up front.  However, I don’t see how I can do it without having them around TO do it.

But then the question arises.  They’re here.  All day.  Every day.  We do the math, the grammar, the science, the history, the spelling, and even… the Bible.  Yes!!  But can I say that I do it on a continual basis?  Is it such a part of our lives that I can stand before the Lord and say that I “diligently t[aught] them to [my] children?”  Unfortunately, I don’t think so.  I’m not proud of that.  What’s the point of doing the hard work (and believe me, it’s hard work) of rearing these children, educating them at home, and not doing the one thing that prompted the whole commitment in the first place?  Why do my kids know more about this movie or that book than they do about THE Book and the One who wrote it?  How did I let this happen?

Part of me says, “Who cares?  Just fix it.  Quit spending your time dredging up ideas of how things should have been and where you went wrong.  Just get in there and make the changes.”  It’s a good argument.  However, if you don’t know how you got somewhere, how will you know how to avoid it (or repeat it if it’s a good thing) the next time?  There needs to be a balance between introspection and action.  My problem?  I have a bad habit of getting bogged down in the mental and forgetting the practical.  I need a bit of both.

The wonderful part of it all is that “His mercies are new every morning.”  Or, in the words of Anne Shirley, “Tomorrow is fresh with no mistakes in it.”  I love that.  I am grateful to know that I will wake up tomorrow with another chance to wrap my children in the Word of God– to help them spend more time with Jesus and less time with things that’ll pass away someday– if their interest lasts past tomorrow.

I want to make sure to turn off media, focus on the Word, and make sure that they know what they need to know about what God has said is important for their lives.

I can’t get back yesterday, but I can live today to the glory of God– and teach my children diligently as we walk by the way, as we lie down, and as we rise up.

Maybe I’ll reread R.C.Sproul Jr.’s book as well.  It’s wonderfully encouraging and convicting.  Yeah.  I’m going to add that to my pile too.

3 thoughts on “All Day Long…

  1. I’ve been thinking a lot about what I am teaching/not teaching my children as well lately. It’s funny that you wrote about it, because it has been weighing heavily on my heart-i’m similar to you, Chautona, in that I can think and plan how to do it but putting it into action is my sore point lol. Even though I don’t homeschool, I feel the same way about my family right now-that I spend so much time working on homework, dinner, music lessons, etc.-but not nearly enough on studying His word or teaching my children about His love. We pray at mealtimes and bedtime, go to church on Sunday, and sometimes on wed evening, and sometimes read Bible stories together, but it’s not enough. I would really like to start some sort of family devotional time where we read the Bible and discuss it…

  2. I have been thinking on this very same thing as well. Trying to rework the schedule so that the stuff I already have and already should be using is getting used. Some days I am tempted to scrap all other educational materials and just do Bible if that is what it takes to “teach it diligently.” But my goal for this year is to significantly increase the time we spend studying God’s word together and praying together. So far we have had good weeks and bad weeks, but I also have a 2 month old so I think we are doing OK 🙂 Now to keep at it!!

  3. Great post! Definitely something that has been weighing on my mind too. I have a tendency to feel guilty about not doing enough, but, like you said, never quite getting around to implementing a change. Lord, I pray You’d fill each of us with a burning desire to know YOU and to raise our children to know You. Give us a vision for what You have in mind for us and our children. Lead us, I pray Lord. Please don’t let us get complacent!.

Leave a Reply

