Book Review: The Corruptible


Title: The Corruptible (A Ray Quinn Mystery)
Author: Mark Mynheir
Publisher’s Syopsis:  How much money would it take for you to betray the truth?

Ex-homicide detective Ray Quinn never had glamorous thoughts of the life of a private investigator—but being cornered in a bathroom stall by the enraged philandering husband of a client? That’s something he could live without. Retired from homicide and living with a painful disability, Ray’s options are limited. Stick to the job, keep impetuous sidekick Crevis alive, and spend quiet evenings with trusted pal Jim Beam, that’s about the best he can hope for.

As a new client emerges, Ray finds himself in an impossibly large boardroom holding a check with enough zeros to finally lift him from his financial pit. The job seems easy enough: find Logan Ramsey, an ex-cop turned security officer who’s taken off with sensitive corporate information. But few things are easy in Ray’s world, regardless of the amount of zeros in the check.

In what should be an open-and-shut case, Ray stumbles across Logan Ramsey in a seedy motel room. Only Ray wasn’t the first to find him. Now Logan’s dead, the client’s information is nowhere to be found, and Ray’s employer is less than forthcoming with the details. Suddenly the line between the good guys and bad guys isn’t so clear. With a foot in both worlds and an illuminating look at an unhappy ending that could well be his own, which will Ray choose?

I was introduced to Mark Mynheir via the Blogging for Books program when they sent me The Night Watchman.  I loved it.  So, when I got an advanced reading copy of The Corruptible, I was ecstatic.  I expect it to be amazing.  What?  Expect?  Chautona, what’s the deal here?  You mean, you’re posting a book review for a book you haven’t read?  Are you nuts?

Why yes, yes I am.

I’m heading to my husband’s post-implant exam today and am reading the book on the 180 mile round trip.  I’ll update this post when I get home with how much I loved it.  Hey, I’m an optimist.

And, to prove my Pollyanna-like attitude, remember, the book isn’t released until next Tuesday, so you can’t dash over to your local bookstore and buy it today anyway!  See… I’m really being quite thoughtful.  Just sayin’.

I’ll be back with my thoughts sometime tonight.

*** BACK***

A part of me wants to say, “Just go order it right now” and leave that as my review, but I suppose that’s not fair.  This book wasn’t a disappointment.  So many second books are a little disappointing, but this one, if anything, is better than the first.  I was drawn in immediately and had a hard time not being rude and ignoring my husband as I read it.  Mark Mynheir has an incredible talent for writing.  His books are perfectly edited, but not so narrowly that they are dry and read like a laundry list.  However, unlike most books written in the first person, his books are so tight that I actually missed the fact that it was first person until several chapters in– again.

The character, Ray Quinn, can drop a line so perfectly that you can hear it.  These books read like a good movie.  You can feel the tension, see the colors, smell everything from the humidity to the stale pizza; you can live the story with the characters.  His characterization is perfect, the plot is solid, and thankfully, the twist isn’t uber predictable.  He got me on one part.  That’s hard to do.  I think I might have figured it out faster if I had read it in one sitting, but maybe not.  It’s just that good.

Buy it.  Just buy it.  I love the book so much that I’m not giving it away.  It’s going up on the shelf right next to The Night Watchman and waiting for another one to join it.  Five stars.  Period.

This book was provided to me by Multnomah for review– my opinions are biased only by the quality of the story.

If you wouldn’t mind, I’d really appreciate it if you dashed on over to Multnomah and ranked my review. I’m still angling for Josh Harris’ new book…

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Corruptible

  1. Hurry up. Not that it matters since I’ll buy it anyway. I LOVED NIGHT WATCHMAN and so did my inlaws. I can’t wait to get it and then send it to them! 🙂

  2. I was a little bummed when I read the reviews on Amazon because people were so down on it. I loved the Night Watchman and so did my inlaws. I’m glad this one will be a good buy.

    • When Wynnewood comes out, I’ll mail both with my books and you can ship ’em back when you’re done if you don’t buy them by then, Dana.

      Warning– the main character is not a Christian– yet. I’m starting to have hope!

  3. I really don’t like fiction, but maybe one day, when I have nothing else to do, I can look into read thing book and the other one you mentioned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

