A Matter of the Will…


One of my favorite verses is in Romans 12:1-2

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Nine words in the middle of that seem to be the question that haunts Christians throughout their walk with Christ.  What is the will of God concerning this?  I mean, I remember how many times I’ve gone to the Word, praying, seeking, but unsure if I was using God’s Word to back up my will.  That’s how we are as humans, isn’t it?  We’re good at justifying our own desires–deluding ourselves that the Lord’s will is paramount in our minds.

I don’t think I’ve cornered the market on discerning the will of God for my life much less anyone else’s, but I have found a question that I like to ask myself after I’ve discerned that it indeed is supported by scripture. So, I now look to Luke 10:27 to help me judge the truth in my heart.

And he answered, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.”

I mean the Bible tells us to go into the world and make disciples of all nations.  However, is me going into foreign missions because I have a personal desire to “do something big” or because by doing this I am loving the Lord with ALL my heart, soul, mind, and strength?  Am I loving my neighbor as myself or just loving myself?”

Yeah, it’s not rocket science, nor is it full proof, but it helps.  It reminds me that in discerning God’s will, I need to be seeking to glorify HIM… and not feeding my flesh.  I need to remember that my flesh sometimes wants what SEEMS scriptural or “spiritual” but is often just full of self.  Who am I kidding.  I’m usually full of self.  Looking to Luke 10:27 HELPS take my focus off myself.  It isn’t full proof, but it helps.

How do you help discern between “spiritual-sounding” desires of the flesh and the true will of God?


One thought on “A Matter of the Will…

  1. I read you loud and clear. Here is my mini bible study on the subject of the Will of God ..

    I believe that whatever we are looking for regarding the will of God the answer will always fall into the category of things He has specifically told us to do (and as you mentioned, it is all about bringing glory to His name). When we can follow the instruction He has so CLEARLY laid out for us in scripture then I believe He will reveal on a more personal level what it is He wants for us. But why give us new information when we don’t follow what we already have.

    1 Thes 5:18 Give thanks in all circumstances; for THIS IS THE WILL OF GOD in Christ Jesus for you.

    Micah 6:8 He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD REQUIRE OF YOU but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

    1 Thes 4:3-8 For THIS IS THE WILL OF GOD, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality; that each one of you know how to control his own bodyc in holiness and honor, not in the passion of lust like the Gentiles who do not know God; that no one transgress and wrong his brother in this matter, because the Lord is an avenger in all these things, as we told you beforehand and solemnly warned you. For God has not called us for impurity, but in holiness. Therefore whoever disregards this, disregards not man but God, who gives his Holy Spirit to you

    Deut 10:12 And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God REQUIRE OF YOU, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul,

    Ecc 12:13 The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the WHOLE DUTY OF MAN.

    Phil 2:14 Do all things without murmuring,
    Prov 3:3 don’t forsake mercy and truth
    Prov 3:5 Trust in the Lord;
    Romans 12:1Offer yourselves a living sacrifice;
    Gal 6:9 Do not become weary in doing good;
    Matt 16:24; Luke 14:26, 27 Deny yourself take up your cross;
    Phil 4:8 Think on things that are True, Noble, just etc…
    Col 3:12-17 Put on tender mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind etc…
    1 Thes 5:16 Rejoice always, 17 Pray without ceasing, 21 Test all things hold fast to that which is good;
    2 Tim 2:15 Study, 22 flee youthful lust, pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace
    James 1:2 Count it all joy, 22 be doers of the word;
    Heb12:14 pursue peace,
    Rom 12:18 live peaceably
    Deut 30:19 chose life
    Romans 13:14 make no provision for the flesh – dozens and tons more.
    Proverbs, James, Romans, Philippians, Thessalonians are great resource books

Leave a Reply

