Getting Creative~


Creativity begets creativity.

I know you’re probably sick to death of hearing about my bathroom, but it’s a good illustration.  So, Tuesday night  Kevin and I finished the bulk of the bathroom.  Oh, sure, the faucet needed to be hooked up, and the vanity needed another coat or two of paint, but the majority was done.  We’re still waiting for the shower curtain to arrive.  I can’t wait to take a picture of it when there’s some color in there and the paint is off the window.  Just sayin’.

The odd thing though is that once I got going, I really didn’t want to stop.  Exhaustion forced me to the couch, but all I could think about was that this needed to be cleaned, that needed to be removed, the other could be done, how would that look, maybe this would be a good idea… and so forth.  It was a strange progression.  The disgust with my ugly bathroom grew into a scrub fest, and then a design/paint plan, and finally a clean-up from that mess.  Then, all I could think about was making something.  I thought of skirts, pillows, embroidery (I know, right?) and even dolls.  I have to admit, narrowing anything down was nearly impossible.  I just wanted to DO something.  Crazy, right?  I am exhausted and all I want is more.  Insanity.

Then I woke up and found someone had shoved the shower curtain rod onto the wall, scraping off paint that had not yet cured.  Yeah.  Wonderful.  Took a shower and discovered the last person who had showered had wiped the wall down… instead of “patted” like I instructed.  Another nice peeled piece of uncured paint.  To say I was annoyed was an understatement.  Before I started snapping at people, I grabbed my laptop and went to have lunch.  Even that didn’t work.  So, on the way home I stopped at our new little fabric store and bought a couple of pieces of fabric.

Skirt time!

It took maybe half an hour to make, plus about fifteen minutes to hem it later.  Andra now has a new skirt.

I’m feeling better… not perfect… every time I go in the bathroom I want to growl.  Maybe I need to go buy that other fabric that appealed to me…

2 thoughts on “Getting Creative~

  1. I’m sorry about the scrapes of paint! I completely understand about wanting to do something creative after all that work though! I’m the same way – though I usually want to draw, write or play the piano. 🙂

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  2. That’s the pits. I hope the person/people responsible groveled at your feet and are bending over backwards to make amends.

Leave a Reply

