Speechless


Ever have one of those days where you just don’t have anything to say?  Not one of those, “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all” kinds of days… just really don’t have anything to share?  Yeah.  I’m having one of those days.  I’ve been thinking about it and really, I could write about dinner tonight (Outback here we come!) or what I’m leaving for the kids to eat  (PIZZA!), but that’s nothing to write home or blog about.  I could write about our anniversary tomorrow… but then what would I write about tomorrow?  I could come up with a diatribe against the political climate in this country, the erosion of our freedoms, the abandoning of our Constitution, but honestly, don’t we all know it?  Is there really anyone who would read such a post and say, “Gee, I hadn’t heard that before!”?  I didn’t think so.

You know, it’s not like me not to have anything to say.  I’m a talker.  I talk.  A lot.  All the time.  Ok, not that much.  I used to though.  I’m also a writer, so I often talk with my fingers.  Some people speak “ASL” with theirs… I just speak silent English with letters.  I just don’t really have anything to say.  I could talk about the weather, but I think I’d be stoned from most of the country.  I’ve had my windows open for most of the week.  I could ramble on about the state of the roads, but do you really care that the section of Norma between Church and Upjohn streets is finally seeing real pavement after weeks of gravel?  I didn’t think so.

There really isn’t any temptation to gossip.  I don’t know of anything to share that anyone would care about.  Thankfully, that doesn’t leave me with any kind of dilemma as to whether what I’d want to write is gossip or not.  I simply don’t have anything like that to share.  Well, unless you wanted to know the super deep secrets of Lorna’s dolls or Ethan’s Lego knights.  Is it a sin to share those secrets?  Well, on the off-chance that it is, I won’t.

So, as you can see, I have nothing to say.  In the words of Miss Bates from Miramax’s Emma, I’m “speechless, absolutely speechless, and [I] haven’t stopped talking of it since!”

5 thoughts on “Speechless

Leave a Reply

