A Meal of the Word


I tend to get crazy ideas in my head.  Sometimes, they’re little things I need to do in order to accomplish something– other times they’re ideas that really don’t make sense in the grand scheme of things.  One such thing as been my idea of how Christian maturity works.  See, I learned the verse 1 Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways” and applied it to my life.  Combined with verses like 1 Peter 2:2 “Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation—” it is easy to see where my erroneous idea came from.  What is that idea?  Well, I’ll tell you!  It’s a simple concept.  When you’re a baby, you eat “baby food.”  You start with milk, go onto pre-mashed foods, and eventually after learning how to crunch and chew, meat.  So, in my mind, maturity means meat.  You need meat and crunchy vegetables and such to keep your more mature body going.  Babies couldn’t eat that stuff if they tried.

I forget, however, that there are other times that the body needs gentler foods.  When we grow older and our digestion no longer works as well as it once did, we often go back to oatmeal, chopped chicken, and rice.  There’s nothing wrong with that!  And, even when we’re in our prime and are strong and healthy, for a few days after a stomach flu, going back to simple gentle foods is perfectly acceptable– even good.

So, when we’ve had a hard time spiritually speaking, when life has battered us until we’re exhausted and/or ill, why do we think we still have to wrestle the deep theological ideas of the word– things like eschatology or predestination?  Why don’t we go back to the more simple concepts.  At times when I’ve been “spiritually sick” I find James to be a very encouraging and stimulating book.  I love James.  First Corinthians 13 is another one.  Philippians 4.  Matthew 7.  Mark.  Psalm 119.

What verses encourage you when you’re too weary to tackle Revelation and Thessalonians?

One thought on “A Meal of the Word

  1. Really good point. I think I fell into the same erroneous thinking, and I appreciate the “hand up” so to speak. There are DEFINITELY times to go back and feed on the “baby food” when our brains just can’t seem to focus on breaking down the meat.

Leave a Reply

