Box o’ Books Giveaway


I’ve been stashing books in a box for a year now, and I’m ready to ship it out of this house. Some are books I didn’t give away at the time I reviewed them, some I bought to review and then didn’t, one is a proof copy of Paisley (exactly like the “real” thing but with “proof” written on the back page) books that went unclaimed over the year, etc. Included in this box are:

  • Male Factor (By Shaunti Feldhahn)
  • Dear Mom (by Melody Carlson)
  • More Than a Match (The Smalleys and Mike Yorkey)
  • A Time to Reap (Michael Phillips)
  • Primal (Mark Batterson)
  • 40 Loaves (C.D. Baker)
  • 99 Ways to Fight Worry and Stress  (Elsa Kop Colopy)
  • Salt [Not Sugar]  Marvin Olasky
  • Eyes Wide Open  (Jud Wilhite)
  • Princess Paisley (Chautona Havig)
  • It’s Just My Nature   (Carol Tuttle– I can honestly say I don’t think I would have given this a good review)
  • Housewives Desperate for God  (Jennie Chancey & Stacy MacDonald)

They’re already packaged in a flat rate box and will go in the mail the day I pick a winner.  To win, leave me the name of a book or author you think I should review (and probably give away a copy of) this year.

 

26 thoughts on “Box o’ Books Giveaway

  1. Large Family Logistics! You have a large family and your reviews are so no-nonsense and tell clearly whether the book would work for most families or not.

  2. I have a lot of ideas! I like this. I need to get home and see my list of books that I’m thinking of getting. Then you can tell me if I want one or not. 🙂

  3. To win, leave me the name of a book or author you think I should review (and probably give away a copy of) this year.

    Hmmm… How about the Happy Hollister books – they are written by Jerry West… OLDIES but GOODIES… do you ever do oldie but goodies? or just new?

    I’m so out of the loop for new books… or authors… OH – how about that one Rachel likes… One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are :: Ann Voskamp. I’d like to read your take on that book.

    • This is the second vote for Large Family Logistics… might do that. Won’t be doing Francine Rivers unless I’m forced to for some inexplicable reason. Do not enjoy her at all.

  4. A mom in our local homeschool group wants to start a ladies ‘bible study’ and go through The Mission of Motherhood: Touching Your Child’s Heart for Eternity by Sally Clarkson. I peeked at Amazon reviews, but it’s SO much more assuring for me to hear or read reviews from someone I know and trust =)

    • Probably won’t be doing anything by the Clarksons. I don’t think it would be “fair” to review a book that I’m pretty certain I wouldn’t like. I don’t agree with them on a few fundamentals, so reviewing their book would really feel like I was choosing to read it simply to criticize.

      I hope you have fun with it.

      • Interesting. I don’t know anything about the Clarksons, but because of the days and times that she is scheduling it I was leaning towards not going anyway. I did think that if I found out it was a great one that I should maybe try a little harder to make it work, but maybe I don’t have to worry about it after all. If you have a few free moments I’d LOVE an email with your thoughts and opinions.

  5. I would love for you to read and review “This was your Life” by Rick Howard and Jamie Lash. This book is one of the best I have ever read and is one I will likely read over and over again. Very inspiring to truly live our lives in the light of eternity.

  6. Hmmm, tough one….
    Have you ever read Goodbye, My Lady? Or maybe a review on Little Britches.

    The Wilderking Trilogy is getting great reviews in our home, would it in yours? Jonathan Rogers is the author.

  7. I think you should do “Radical.” I have to fight the urge to blow off any book that becomes popular, assuming that it won’t be meaty enough for me – LOL – my hubris – but many people I respect have been impacted by the teachings in that book, and I would love to hear your opinion.

Leave a Reply

