Thirty Days of Thanksgiving


Day 18:

Wrongness.  Today, I am thankful for the many times I’ve been wrong.  It’s a funny thing to be thankful for, isn’t it?  But truthfully, I am.  There are so many things I’ve thought I wanted to be or do or not to do, and later learned how wrong I was.  I never wanted to have children.  Can you imagine grateful that I was so wrong about that plan of mine?  I have nine wonderful children.  I have two beautiful grandchildren.

I thought I wanted to be a teacher.  I wanted it desperately.  I had great plans for teaching during the school year, living in my own little cottage with a dog, and writing during my summers.  I would have been a horrible teacher.  I don’t like teaching.  I teach my children because it is right and because I love them.  I do not have an innate love of children.  Without that, I don’t think I could have survived more than a year or two.

So many things from Bible doctrine to the best curriculum choice– I’ve been wrong about it all.  I’m thankful for the wrongnesses that I know about, because each of them is an indicator that I’ve grown– that the Lord has brought me further in my walk.  When I remember all the things I’ve learned over the years, false impressions that I’ve discovered, faulty thinking, I am so thankful for wrongness.  I’ve been wrong so often.  I will be wrong again, but in that wrongness, I will grow and learn a new dependence upon the Lord.  I’m thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

