Thirty Days of Thankfulness


Day Two:

Image courtesy of istockphoto.com

Cliche as it is, it is true.  I am very grateful to live in a country where my vote matters– where what I as a citizen want holds equal weight as every other citizen from the woman next door, to my parents across the country, to the wealthiest members of our society.  I am thankful that there is no compulsion to vote aside from my own conscience.  I am an American.  As most Americans, and I dare say much of the rest of the world feels for their own country, I think I have been blessed to live in the most wonderful country in the world.  It is changing, this country of ours, changing in ways that hurts my heart and makes it a very different place than the country I always knew it to be, but still, with all the changes, it is still the only place in the world that I’d love to live.  Thank you, Lord, for America and the rights and privileges granted to me as an American citizen– particularly the right to vote.

One thought on “Thirty Days of Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

