Book Review: Vanishing Act


Book: Vanishing Act

Author: Liz Johnson

Publisher’s Synopsis: Eighteen months ago, Nora James watched as her father was shot in an alley—and then she fl ed. She changed her name, her appearance and her job, hoping to keep her father’s shooter at bay. For months, it worked…but now her luck has run out. A ruthless assassin is on her trail, and soon Nora, now known as Danielle, will be found. But this time, she has FBI agent Nate Andersen by her side—right? The handsome agent would give his life to protect Danielle, but he’s wary of giving his heart…until a deadly confrontation leaves him with both on the line.

I’ll confess, when I read the back of this book, I expected to be able to predict the plot, the twists, and the outcome.  While I did peg the “bad guy” almost immediately, I did not figure out the rest.  That alone gives this book a thumbs up.  That leaves one more thumb to go, right?  Well, how about the fact that the characters are interesting, the plot is engaging and the spiritual encouragement is right on the nose for the primary area that the women I know usually talk about?  What is it?  Fear.  This book is a mini gold-mine of reminders that our fears are not bigger than the God who can conquer them for us and through us.

Yes, the book is a romance.  Thankfully, Liz Johnson isn’t so sappy that I gag reading her– sappier than I usually am, but then so are most writers.  The main characters have a relationship that gets intense a little early, but considering the situation, their personalities, and their personal issues, it makes sense.  It fits.  And, once the book was over, I realized that it takes place over a longer period of time than I’d realized as I read it.  Hey, sometimes I just get lost in a story and miss little details like how many days or weeks have passed.  Sue me.

And, isn’t that the point of a book?  To get lost in the story?  Isn’t that what makes a good book?  So, for that I give the book my other thumbs up.  Both thumbs waggle in the air cheerfully.  This book is a great read, nice and suspenseful, but light enough that it never feels like a chore to keep your mind on the plot.  That says everything.

I apologize.  I usually give away the books I review, but this book is mine.  Ms. Johnson kindly signed it to me and it’s going right next to another book of hers on my shelf.  I’ll read it again…  That should also say a lot.  So, go zip over to Amazon, snag you a copy of this nice inexpensive book, wait impatiently for the UPS truck, grab your beverage of choice (I recommend Coke), find a bag of Reese’s Pieces somewhere, and curl up in your favorite reading spot.  It might not hurt to throw something in the crockpot first.  I guarantee you’re not going to want to put it down to go make dinner.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Vanishing Act

  1. I got the book yesterday and read it from cover to cover last night. WOW. Even with your warning that you might peg the bad guy right away, it still took me out of left field when I realized who it was!

Leave a Reply

