The Day of 39…


Today is my last day of being 39.  I think it’s kind of cool, so I’m celebrating with 39s…  So, today I am listing all the 39 things people have challenged me to do and marking as or if I do them

DONE


  • An amazing mother who was and is an excellent example of a wife and mother.
  • A strong and inspiring father who worked hard to give me a beautiful childhood.
  • A husband who loves me even when he should knock me into next week (well… figuratively speaking anyway).
  • The best family a woman could ever hope for.
  • A son-in-law who takes good care of my daughter and grandchildren.
  • The two sweetest bestekids known to mankind.
  • My dream house.  It’s everything I ever wanted and more.
  • Teeth.  You don’t know how wonderful it is to have teeth that don’t scare children.  Snort.
  • Siblings who love me even though they hardly know me.
  • Aunts, Uncles, and cousins who gave me great memories.
  • A great education.
  • Reasonably good health.
  • Online friends who keep me on my toes mentally, spiritually, and in every other “ally.”
  • Teresa- She’s always there no matter what.  I couldn’t ask for a better friend.
  • Noemi- Time passes, we grow older, but our friendship never changes.  I love her.
  • A mother-in-law who is worth more than rubies.  She’s truly the delight of my heart.
  • A father-in-law who always made me smile, always showed me absolute love and acceptance, and was the first to show me just how much my husband loves me.
  • Memories.  The Lord has helped me preserve so many awesome memories.  I am truly blessed.
  • Salvation.  Without this, the rest would mean nothing.  I am in awe that the Lord chose to save me.
  • Ridgecrest.  It’s a small and safe little community.  I couldn’t ask for a better home town.
  • Laptops… I can’t imagine what my miserable fall in the recliner would have been like without a laptop.  It is truly a beautiful invention.
  • Modern medicine.  As much as I don’t like it being foisted on me, I love that it’s there when I want it.
  • Swamp coolers  (can you tell it’s hot while I’m writing this?)
  • A man who loves the Lord and the Word to teach us what is in the Bible each week.
  • Bibles.  I can’t imagine living where a Bible is such a luxury I couldn’t afford to have it.
  • Abundant food variety and affordable.  I have never known true hunger.
  • Music… it has inspired my life, my imagination, and stirs my soul.
  • Sight.  For thirty-nine years I’ve been able to see the faces of loved ones, the beauty of nature, words on a page.  If I go blind tonight, I have a lifetime of bold colors, soft shades, and beautiful faces to keep me entertained for the rest of my lifetime.  (No, Lord, I am not asking to go blind for variety’s sake.)
  • Hearing.  I grew up with Mom’s laughter, Dad’s singing and playing, the laughter of my children, and reveling in the way my husband says my name.  I’d never want to lose any of that, but even if I did, I’d have to be thankful for all I had.
  • Christians who have encouraged me by word, deed, and example.  I am truly blessed.
  • The opportunity to try so many things.  I love that I can at least attempt most things that interest me.
  • Internet– I’ve seen lives changed, helped, supported, and loved.  It amazes me.
  • Neighbors who enrich my life rather than drain it.
  • Enough to live on and extra to share with others.  We’re truly blessed.
  • America.  I feel blessed to be born in this country with all the freedoms that are so precious.  It kills me to watch us hand them over like the blood that was shed to earn and preserve them means nothing.
  • Washing machines and Dryers.  I know that sounds trivial but with ten people in the house… can you imagine doing all that laundry by hand on a washboard or battling rock?  I rest my case.
  • A steady job for my husband.  It has provided, and well, for us for nearly twenty-two years (and for him, for twenty five!).
  • A variety of places that I’ve visited and lived… I think it enriched my life and “grew” me in so many ways.
  • Lilacs… they always make me smile.

  • Go on a dinner mystery train ride
  • Go to India
  • Get Plotting Santa published
  • Finish renovating the house
  • Go to Chicago
  • Finish the books I  have started
  • Write the children’s series I have planned.
  • Lose at least half of the excess weight I carry.
  • Graduate all of my children.
  • Water my plants  (Can you tell I’m hoping I’ll read this before they die?)
  • Find a way to show my husband how incredible I think he is.  (Let’s face it, that’s some tough work)
  • Meet more of my HearthKeeper friends
  • Learn to garden and enjoy it
  • Find a way to keep the tops of the cabinets and fridge clear.
  • Eliminate half the stuff we own.
  • Learn to enjoy every minute of life to its fullest.
  • Get Nolan and Kaylene birth certificates.
  • Learn to like talking on the phone again.
  • Develop a little self-discipline.  After 40 years, I think it’s time, don’ you?
  • Finish Mom and Dad’s memory book.
  • Get comfortable with sci-fi
  • Read more books to the kids
  • Sew up or get rid of all that fabric!
  • Learn how to market my books properly.
  • Become successful enough as an author to pay my illustrationIST enough.  (This is the correct term… just ask him)
  • Invest more in my friends’ lives.
  • Continue to improve in money management  (I’m WAY better than in my 20’s, so hey, right?)
  • Get all photos edited and scrapped  *falls on the floor laughing hysterically*
  • Empty out the shed
  • Do more of the things I love at Christmas
  • Learn to make Christmas presents for friends throughout the year
  • Make birthdays more meaningful
  • Learn how to express my heart to those I love.
  • Take another family trip before the kids are all scattered
  • Smile more
  • Learn to get in the picture more often
  • Swim more… I like it… I should do it.
  • Cheer Kevin on a race.  (note that I am not racing )
  • Make it another 39 years.

  • Kevin
  • Challice
  • Morgann
  • Braelyn
  • Kaylene
  • Nolan
  • Jenna
  • Andra
  • Ethan
  • Lorna
  • David
  • Euphemia
  • Stephen
  • Mom
  • Dad
  • Home
  • Chocolate
  • Jesus
  • Bible
  • Fruit
  • Sleep
  • music
  • green
  • friendship
  • blessing
  • seriously?
  • books
  • smile
  • serve
  • clean
  • tranquility
  • serendipity
  • heifer
  • light
  • tryst
  • *bleep*
  • hearth
  • lovely
  • treasure

Done!!!

  • Philippians 4: 8
  • Ephesians 4: 1-6
  • 1 Corinthians 13: 1-12
  • Proverbs 31: 10-31

Didn’t get one.  Sniff

Going around the house soon to take them!

  • Kevin
  • the kids
  • the bestekids
  • our home
  • Ridgecrest
  • Kevin’s work schedule
  • our friends
  • our church
  • my craft space
  • variety
  • knowing I’m loved and accepted… even with all my many faults and flaws
  • how easy it is to change things when I need to
  • kids that run errands for me
  • people that inspire me
  • the ability to study anything that interests me
  • cold water on a hot day
  • fans and quirt bottles on a hot day
  • chillin’ on the laptop when I need a break
  • a good movie
  • laughter filling my home
  • the scent of dinner cooking
  • walking into a clean room
  • that my children want to be with us
  • that my children like each other
  • that my children love the Lord and seek Him
  • mail
  • dinner out when I forgot to make something
  • overnights with my huggy
  • that I’m surrounded by people who love the Lord
  • “book signings” with my friends
  • that it’s only a couple of hours to the beach, a couple of hours to the mountains, a couple of hours to LA… anything I want is in close driving distance.
  • a quiet home (aside from that laughter thing)
  • facebook chats with my sister
  • Letters from mom that read like telegrams.
  • Calls from MIL that make us chuckle (she’s convinced that I’m wildly rich and famous now!)
  • Silly things Lorna says
  • Singing Emmas
  • A comfy recliner (it’s going bye bye though!)

doing it tonight I hope.

this one required leaving the house.  So, I gave 3 to Jenna… does that count?  3 time 3 is nine so that’s 39 in a really wonky way.  Of course, the 5 bucks we gave the kids kind of messes that up though…

  • I
  • the
  • thirty
  • nine
  • try
  • Thine
  • rein
  • intent
  • hit
  • then
  • ninety
  • hitter
  • yet
  • hey
  • hie
  • tenth
  • tithe
  • their
  • tyne
  • hire
  • hint
  • tin
  • tie
  • try
  • het
  • ye
  • it
  • in
  • thin
  • they
  • tent
  • rent
  • trinity
  • thinner
  • tint
  • retint
  • ire
  • yeti
  • inn
  • titer
  • yen

I wanted to do this one so badly, but I knew that the minute Michele picked up the phone, we’d gab and I wouldn’t get it done anyway so why bother?  I’ll just tell her here.  Michele?

  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.
  • I love you.

How about edited instead?

  • You Belong to Me-  Jo Stafford
  • The Gentleman Is a Dope-  Jo Stafford
  • No Other Love-  Jo Stafford
  • I Fall to Pieces-  Patsy Cline
  • Silver Haired Daddy of Mine-   Marty Robbins
  • Class of ’57-  Statler Brothers
  • Standin’ on the Corner- Four Lads
  • Gilly Gilly Ossenfeffer Catsenallen Bogen by the Sea-  Four Lads
  • Wake Up Little Susie-  Everly Brothers
  • Let it Be Me- Everly Brothers
  • Vaya Con Dios-  Les Paul & Mary Ford
  • Wither Thou Goest-  Les Paul & Mary Ford
  • Greenfields-  The Brother’s Four
  • Sama Kama Wacky Brown-  The Brother’s Four
  • Greensleeves-  The Brother’s Four
  • Innisfree-  Celtic Woman
  • Ireland’s Call-  Celtic Thunder
  • Hallelujah Praise Jehovah-  Jesser E. Calipayan
  • Tammy-  Ames Brothers
  • Harbor Lights-  Ames Brothers
  • My Bonnie Lassie-  Ames Brothers
  • Little Green Apples-  Roger Miller
  • Husbands and Wives-  Roger Miller
  • Oh No!-  The Browns
  • The Three Bells-  The Browns
  • The Old Lamplighter-  The Browns
  • Adios Amigo-  The Sons of the Pioneers
  • Gringo’s Guitar-  The Sons of the Pioneers
  • South of the Border-  Tommy Garrett (50 guitars)
  • Theme from a Summer Place-  Percy Faith
  • Theme from the Moulin Rouge-  Percy Faith
  • Nola-  Les Paul
  • The Reverend Mr. Black-  The Kingston Trio
  • Mack the Knife- Bobby Darin
  • On the Street Where You Live-  Vic Dana
  • He’ll Have to Go-  Jim Reeves
  • Shifting Whispering Sands-  Jim Reeves
  • Cruel War-  Peter, Paul, and Mary
  • The Ship-  Peter, Paul, and Mary

Done!

  • 10 things trashed from the living room
  • 7 catalogs tossed
  • 2 things tossed from the hall closet
  • 3 magazines tossed
  • 5 notebooks tossed
  • 5 pieces of fabric tossed
  • 4 empty containers in the bathroom tossed
  • 1 broken shelf in the bathroom tossed
  • 2 pieces of trash tossed from my bedroom

Ordered some scrapping paper to finish a project, a stamp, and an embossing folder.  WAHOO

  • Ted
  • Tori
  • Sylvia
  • Fiona
  • Sarah
  • Cody
  • Amber
  • Brandi
  • Zella
  • Yvette
  • Holli
  • Aaron
  • Dee
  • Arletta
  • Marv
  • Gene
  • Jason
  • Billy
  • Astrid
  • Paul
  • Arthur
  • Jonah
  • Quinn
  • Trey
  • Blake
  • Everett
  • Elise
  • Gaye
  • Karyn
  • Oliver
  • Mason
  • James
  • Frederick
  • Hallie
  • Denver
  • Gracyn
  • Xavier
  • Wendell
  • Janiver

Wouldn’t you like to know…. mmmwwwaahahahahaha

  • Ran a successful internet business.
  • Wrote over fifteen books and started another thirty or more
  • Published four books (almost five!)
  • Had what may be my last child
  • Became a Grandmother
  • Married off my eldest child  (obviously before I became a grandmother!)
  • Discovered I had asthma and learned how to manage it a bit.
  • Learned paper crafting
  • Graduated four children
  • Finally started losing weight
  • Discovered blogging
  • Moved the house around three times… or was it four?
  • Renovated a kitchen
  • Replaced all the windows in the house (well, I did the mud work)
  • Started a message board
  • Taught five kids to read
  • “graduated” from a 15 passenger van to smaller cars
  • Found the world’s best illustrator and conned him into doing my work.  MMMWWWAHAHAHAHA
  • Survived the great backyard flood of ’05
  • Survived Legalized Medical Torture
  • Made 140 cards in like 5 weeks
  • Learned to write in the first person without hating the result.
  • Learned that I leave out commas when I write fiction and add too many in nonfiction
  • Discovered the wonders of Key Lime Cheesecake
  • Saw all of my children baptized into the Lord and most during those years!
  • Made clothing out of bedspreads, curtains, and linens
  • Took our first “Family” vacation that didn’t include going to see family.
  • Finally got off restriction (took me long enough… I was grounded until I turned 37!)
  • Learned how to design websites
  • Learned how to recognize my thunderpuppiness… now I can learn how to kill it.
  • New teeth… now THAT is an accomplishment considering how many years it took me to GET them.
  • Learned that diplomacy is not my spiritual gift… drat.
  • Should have taught Lorna to read so I could say I finished that in my 30’s
  • Finished potty training… maybe forever!!!
  • Discovered what it was like to grocery shop without diapers in the cart.
  • Learned how to save
  • Learned HOW to give

I’ll be filing in the empty spots tonight!!!

  • I love you.
8 thoughts on “The Day of 39…

Leave a Reply

