Book Review: The Bridgrooms


Title: The Bridegrooms

Author: Allison Pittman

Publisher’s Synopsis: It Only Takes an Instant for Love to Strike

Tragedy hits the Allenhouse family on a hot summer night in Ohio when a mother of four vanished. Eight-year-old Vada virtually grew up overnight and raised her three younger sisters while her father lost himself in his medical practice in the basement of their home.

Now, Vada is a grown woman, still making her home with her father and sisters. Her days are spent serving as an errand girl for Cleveland’s fledgling amateur orchestra; her evenings with Garrison Walker, her devoted, if passionless, beau.

Dizzying change occurs the day the Brooklyn Bridegrooms come to town to play the Cleveland Spiders and a line drive wallops the head of a spectator. The fan is whisked to the Allenhouse parlor, and questions swirl about the anonymous, unconscious man.

Suddenly, the subdued house is filled with visitors, from a flirtatious, would-be sports writer to the Bridegrooms’ handsome star hitter to the guilt-ridden ballplayer who should have caught the stray shot. The medical case brings Dr. Allenhouse a frustration and helplessness he hasn’t felt since his wife’s disappearance. Vada’s sisters are giddy at the bevy of possible suitors. And Vada’s life is awakened amid the super-charged atmosphere of romantic opportunity.

This book was not at all what I pictured.  I imagined the American version of “bonnet drama”– the wide open prairies, bonnets, and mail order brides.  I avoided reading it for a while.  I looked at it.  I didn’t even bother to read the back.  I wanted to read it… but I dreaded the review that would follow if I didn’t like it.  Enter, this afternoon.  I was tired, didn’t feel well, and after making half a card before crashing, I decided to take the book and go to bed.  I read it.

Now, maybe it was just the perfect day to read the story, but I liked it.  There was so much depth to each character.  That is always a difficult thing to achieve when there is a large supporting cast of characters.  If you give them too much attention, you take away from the soul of the book and leave the reader floundering from person to person.  If you don’t give them enough attention, the book falls flat.  This book tugs you in, fills you up, and leaves you smiling at the end.  There were times during the story that I wanted to slap every single character in it.  It ended quite satisfactorily, which is a feat in and of itself.

This is one of those rare books that has a very deep undertone.  On the surface, it’s just a light fluffy story for a balmy spring afternoon.  However, if you immerse yourself in it, there are deep and amazing spiritual truths played out before your eyes.  Be careful… they could just change your life.  I know in a tangible way, this book changed mine.

So, obviously I recommend it.

Furthermore, I have two copies to give away thanks to the generosity of Multnomah who provided it for review.

So, if you’d like to win a copy, just post and tell me if any novel has made a significant impact on your life!  I’ll draw soon.  I’m needing to get stuff out of the house!

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bridgrooms

  1. I’m reading the “Lineage of Grace” series by Francine Rivers. It’s about five women who were in the lineage of Jesus: Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheba, and Mary. It’s made me realize that these women who I have taken for granted were real people just like me with feelings and how God used their faithfulness for His glory. Love it!

  2. “A Horse and His Boy” by CS Lewis. It’s my favorite of the Narnia books and it is so perfect at describing how God is always beside us, directing things to benefit us, even if they are painful.

  3. Honestly, there are so many I cant choose just one. Camellia, Sophie’s Heart, Wives and Daughters, there is just so many that I pick a bit from here and there and just have touched me in different ways.

  4. Ready or Not is a book that really changed me. OK, not really.

    I don’t know if I can name just one. Tough question!

    Sharing Chronicles of Narnia with my children has lead to some great discussion and that has been wonderful. Also I read a series by Francine Rivers many years ago that really made an impact.

    Don’t hate me for that, k?

  5. It’s too late for me to think clearly and pick a book. Am I disqualified? Can I blame the schools I went to that I have no memories of great books growing up? Hmm… I have to pick one? Persuasion because it’s the first book I read as an adult. Really read.

    AND I want to win because a character in that book is named Garrison like my sweet 2yo angel boy.

  6. I’m not sure that this qualifies as a novel, but as a young girl I read the book “Gladys Aylward, missionary to China” it really touched my young heart about the needs of peope all around the world.

Leave a Reply

