A Game You Can Sink Your Teeth Into…


So, I’m at Nolan’s basketball game tonight.  It’s their third game, but the first one I’ve made.  Yeah, I’m a bad mom.  I won’t go into it, but let’s just say it wasn’t for lack of wanting to be there.

Now, the Running Rebels were undefeated at the beginning of tonight’s game, I’d never been to one, so there was a certain part of me that wondered if I’d jinx it all.  Work with me here.  The buzzer blared.  I squealed.  Lorna jumped.  My family laughed.  Sigh.

BTW, I remember nothing of the rules of basketball.  I played in 8th grade for two and a half months.  I remember one “rule”.  No traveling.  Well, traveling isn’t what we were taught.  Apparently, our coach gave us a technique to avoid traveling rather than actually teaching us what it was.  We were told to dribble at least 3 times before switching to the other hand.  At least, it meant we wouldn’t travel because we were told to either dribble or throw to something (a player, the basket).  I didn’t know you COULD hold a ball for even three seconds.  I learned a lot tonight.  Things like carrying and the three second thingie.

Ok, the ball was tossed, and away the players ran.  Back and forth they went… the other team scored.  And scored.  And scored.  At the end of the first quarter, we were down by at least 8 points.  I’m glad you can’t chew your nails with dentures.  I wouldn’t have any left.  So, for what it’s worth, we stank that quarter.

About that time, my girls decided that the other team had louder cheer-ers.  So, we were all ordered to scream like crazy for our team.  I have volume.  Just sayin’.  We scream, we stomp, we clap our hands (my hands are killin’ me BTW).  Quarter two ends and we’re only down by 1 point.  WWWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

During the third quarter, we traded the lead back and forth.  I screamed.  Wildly.  Lorna got so excited, she whacked the guy next to her in the head.  OOPS.  It was intense.  Basically, during the second quarter, the other team started fouling us left and right.  We were going to win by foul shots alone.  I don’t want to say they are a foul team, but… well… just sayin’.

During the fourth quarter, we started to pull way ahead.  WAY.  It got intense– exciting.  I screamed and squealed.  I was under orders; what can I say?  Then it happened.  Gulp.

I screamed.  No biggie, right?  I’d been doing it all night.  I was hoarse as it was.  It was impressive.  Except for one little thing.  I couldn’t stop laughing.  Why, you ask?  Well, I don’t wear dental adhesive very often.  They fit well enough without it for most things.  Not for cheering at basketball games.  Just sayin’.  I let out a yell, and barely got my hands in front of my face in time.  The teeth were in my hand.

Snort.

I told Kevin and at some pivotal point of the game, our family (remember, there are 10 of us) all erupt in uproarious laughter.  HILARITY.  Just sayin’.  Everyone around us was lost.  I don’t blame them.

Apparently nearly losing your teeth is good for scores, because we won, 70 to 58.

The things I do for my kids.

Oh, and next week, my teeth will be adhered to my palate and gums with “Secure”.  My adhesive of choice.  Just sayin’.

2 thoughts on “A Game You Can Sink Your Teeth Into…

  1. That’s priceless. OH MAN!!!! First Lorna hitting some poor guy in the head, and then you nearly catapulting your teeth, ROFLOL!!! 😀 Good times!

Leave a Reply

