Cleanliness is next to… Creativity?


We have an odd phenomenon in my family that I suspect isn’t so very odd after all.  Our house can be a disaster movie and the kids just sit around reading a book or watching a movie.  They might go outside and swim… or create an entire world that makes sense only in their imaginations…

But…

If I clean the table, sweep the floor, fluff the cushions and pillows on the couch, scrub the doorjambs and put away all the clutter in a room (or insist that they do), it is amazing what happens around here.  Crayons and colored pencils emerge as though summoned by the Pied Piper of Havigland.  Legos come out of the woodwork and arrange themselves (with the help of little fingers) into amazing creations.

You know, the same is true of my craft space.  If my bedroom is spotless, I suddenly get the urge to go in there and make something.  If I’ve let it become a dumping ground (the whole family thinks my room exists as a place to dump stuff so they don’t have to put it away or worse, find out where it goes to begin with), not so much.  Then, I just want to close the door, sit in my chair, and escape into my dream worlds.

Someone (probably Benjamin Franklin since he coined most common proverbs that I know outside Biblical ones) said that “cleanliness is next to godliness.”  I don’t know about that.  I get where it comes from… after all, salvation is spoken of as a “washing” or a “cleansing”, but frankly, I’m thinkin’ that in this house, cleanliness is next to industry and creativity.

Thought you oughtta know.

One thought on “Cleanliness is next to… Creativity?

Leave a Reply

