Book Review: An Absence So Great ** WIN A FREE COPY**


Title: An Absence So Great

Author: Jane Kirkpatrick

Publisher’s Synopsis: Did photography replace an absence in her life or expose the truth of her heart’s emptiness?

While growing in confidence as a photographer, eighteen-year-old Jessie Ann Gaebele’s personal life is at a crossroads. Hoping she’s put an unfortunate romantic longing behind her as “water under the bridge,” she exiles herself to Milwaukee to operate photographic studios for those owners who have fallen ill with mercury poisoning.

Jessie gains footing in her dream to one day operate her own studio and soon finds herself in other Midwest towns, pursuing her profession. But even a job she loves can’t keep painful memories from seeping into her heart when the shadows of a forbidden love threaten to darken the portrait of her life.

Oh, my word.  I’ve loved Jane Kirkpatrick’s books since I read All Together In One Place.  GREAT book.  This is another amazing story.  Jane Kirkpatrick has a beautiful ability to take a true story and fictionalize it.  She writes about real people with real problems and weaknesses.  It seems as though she’s drawn to independent women who make unusual choices in their lives, and An Absence So Great is no different.

The book begins with a photograph, a slight vignette about why that picture was taken, the story surrounding it, and it seems to set the tone for the next chapter/section.  The heroine, Jessie, is torn between wanting what is wrong to desire and knowing that her heart desires it anyway.  I love how each person in the book is shown with all their faults, strengths, weaknesses, and glory moments.  You pity Mrs. Baur, despise her, and see how similar she is to her husband… even though she sees herself so far above him.  Jessie is so strong and fiercely independent.  Her parents see her as rejecting their upbringing, but really, she makes decisions, almost every chapter, that show how committed she is to the same values.

Sin isn’t glorified in this book, but neither is it preached about.  It’s confronted, for what it is, and the reader is left to determine where it fits in the scheme of Scripture.  It takes talent to do that without leaving the reader with the impression that the author condones it.

On the negative scale, there were places the story truly stalled.  I had to go back and reread sections to understand where she was trying to take the story.  It certainly isn’t a story killer, but it was frustrating.

Do I recommend it?  Without question.  I love reading these fictionalized true stories by Ms. Kirkpatrick. I feel obligated to point out that things happen in this book that aren’t what we’d always like to see in Christian fiction.  Without giving away the plot, things that I believe are wrong and very damaging to families happen as a matter of course.  However, this is biographical fiction.  This is the actual story of Ms. Kirkpatrick’s grandmother and her life.  She can only write what happened in that case.  She can’t whitewash what happened to make it fit into the neat boxes that Christian fiction usually confines their heroes and heroines in.

I’d like to thank Water Brook for providing me with this copy to review.  You can win this copy by posting a comment.  Please tell me how old your favorite picture is!

And, as always, please be sure to read my Giveaways disclaimer if you haven’t read it in the past or as a refresher!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: An Absence So Great ** WIN A FREE COPY**

  1. My favorite picture is about 42 years old~ my mom’s senior picture. It’s gorgeous and a glimpse into her life before me. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a very interesting book! I’d love to give it a read.

    Probably among my favorite “old” pictures is one of the few of my mom, who passed away when I was 12.

  3. You always get to review the interesting book! I am adding this to my book list… unless of course you want to let me win this one!

  4. My current favorite picture is of my grandmother with her three adult children taken on the deck of our previous house some twenty-something years ago on the day of my sister’s wedding. My grandmother died soon after. It was the last picture they had taken together and symbolizes (just by looking at their smiles and eyes) how much love was shared between them. Ironically, my uncle in that picture died this week.

  5. I have not enjoyed all of Jane’s books, but I really enjoyed the Change and Cherish series. i love how she bases them on true stories and real life is not always wonderful and exciting.
    My favorite picture…..huh, well, I would say a picture of my grandma when she was 18 and just got married. It was in the ’40’s my favorite era and i love her picture! She flatters me when she says she thinks I look like her too, as she is really cute and pretty! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

Leave a Reply

