Life Lesson #2924820


So… you’d think after all these years, I’d have learned this little ditty.  Guess what?  I didn’t.  I get it now, but ummmmm well, ummm… ok, so I’m just stupid.  Sue me.

Ready for it?  Just because you buy something new, remodel something, replace something… doesn’t mean it won’t need to be redone, repurchased, or maintained.

Example?  Sure, I’ll give you one.  My new kitchen.  I designed it for an easy to clean, simple to organize, and to be a well-oiled machine.  For some idiotic reason, I forgot that I’d have to clean out cupboards, wipe them down, reorganize, and repair things when they got dinged.  I don’t know why, but for me, doing that huge job seemed to tell my brain, “There you go, you’re done. ”  Ummmmm yeah.

I’ve done this with a lot of things.  Couch.  I bought a new one 10.5 years ago.  Guess what?  It’s shot.  I remember when I bought it, I told myself, “This’ll last us about ten years and then we’ll need to replace it.”  So why am I so irritated that I was right?  I thought people were supposed to like being right.

Sheesh.

So, I’m off to organize and clean one corner of the kitchen.  I’ll just do a few sections at a time, tossing what doesn’t make me happy, keeping what does, making everything pretty… it’s a good life.  I need to let myself enjoy it!  And I need to quit thinking that once done means over.  Why do I never learn that one?

4 thoughts on “Life Lesson #2924820

  1. Pingback: March 12, 2010 « Housewifeworkout's Blog

  2. ooohh..lightbulbs going on in my head. I am the same way. Reminds me of the line from the Incredibles

    No matter how many times you save the world, it always manages to get back in jeopardy again. Sometimes I just want it to stay saved! You know, for a little bit? I feel like the maid; I just cleaned up this mess! Can we keep it clean for… for ten minutes! Mr. Incredilbe

    • Exactly! AMEN

      I love that line. It’s one of my favorites.

      I’m watching Return to me right now, and I’m waiting for that wonderful line when Grace asks if she can help her grandfather… here it is!!! Right now he says, “I’m blessed with work. Sweet dreams, Gracie Alanna!”

      Talk about TIMING

Leave a Reply

