Book Review: Dancing with My Father **Win A Free Copy**


Title: Dancing with My Father

Subtitle: How God Leads Us into a Life of Grace and Joy

Author: Sally Clarkson

Publisher’s Synopsis: Let Your Soul Dance with Delight in God

Do you sometimes feel victimized by circumstances? Are you overwhelmed by weariness, fear, or discouragement? Do you wonder, Where can I go to claim the promise of Jesus that my joy could be made full?

When trusted author and mentor Sally Clarkson noticed a lack of joy in her own life, she realized how easy it can be, especially for women with overloaded to-do lists, to feel weighed down by drudgery and disappointment. But rather than slogging through her days, Sally wanted to know the delight of God’s presence. She began prayerfully exploring how to cultivate deep-rooted joy even in the midst of difficult seasons.

In this warm and wise book, she invites you to experience for yourself what happens when you trust God to lead you into a life of anticipation, passion, and purpose.

Weaving biblical insights with real-life stories that reflect every Christian woman’s deepest longings, Dancing with My Father reveals how any woman, in any circumstance, can daily live in beauty and grace, joy and peace.

Having read much by Sally Clarkson over the years, I was curious about this book when it arrived.  Was it about Father/Daughter relationships or more like Heavenly Father/Daughter ones.  To my relief, it was the latter.  I wasn’t too keen on reading a woman’s perspective on how my husband should relate to his daughter unless it was designed to help my daughter understand how her Daddy thinks differently than she does.  One thumb up for that alone.

The opening charge of the book is JOY.  I need joy not only in my relationship with the Lord, but in every aspect of my life.  Joy.  Another thumb went up.

Mrs. Clarkson works hard to remind us who the Author of joy, happiness, pleasure, and life truly is.  She reminds us that God isn’t a great Cosmic spoiler in the negative sense.  He’s not there to spoil our fun, He created it!  Instead, God is a different kind of Cosmic spoiler.  He spoils us with the richness of His overflowing gifts into our lives.  I’m not sure Mrs. Clarkson would appreciate my weird analogy, but there you have it.

The book is rich in anecdotes, stories, and scripture.  Each chapter ends with a few questions designed to get you thinking and keep you thinking.  I think that is the best part of those questions– the keep you thinking part.  At the end, there is a prayer.  Now, at first, I was bothered by it.  I don’t usually like scripted prayers.  However, sometimes, I think it might be a nice start– something to keep your focus on where the Lord might be taking your prayers.  For those things alone, two more thumbs up.

However, I must say, I think the book was a little … oh, I don’t know.  Random.  It wasn’t clearly organized.  Some things seemed to jump around a little, and a couple of times she seemed to contradict herself.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think she really did.  I think it’s a little like Jesus telling us not to judge one another and then Paul coming along and saying that we will do it.  One is obviously talking about the heart and the other about actions in the body of believers.  However, on the surface, they seem to contradict.  With just one person writing down the thoughts of the author in this book (and this time the author herself), I would have thought she’d be able to keep a more cohesive line… or at least her editors might have helped.  However, it’s not a major problem… just a few frustrations of the book.  On that score, one thumb down.

Now, for those who know me, this might surprise you, but I’m not giving away my copy of this book yet  I want to go over it again, most slowly.  I want to answer the questions, think deeply, and really eek every bit of nectar I can from this book.  However, I do have ONE copy to give away, so if you’d like to win a copy, post a comment and tell us what part of  God you CAN see in your father or father-figure.

I want to thank Water Brook for providing this book for review and for the giveaway copy.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Dancing with My Father **Win A Free Copy**

  1. I so want to read this book! And I always appreciate the clarity and honesty of your reviews.

    I was blessed to have a father who truly did model our Heavenly Father in so many ways…but the main one was true unconditional love. While I didn’t want to disappoint my Daddy…I hated the hurt I saw in his eyes when I disobeyed…I also knew that there was NOTHING I could do that would cause him not to love me. I knew that I could come to him at any time with any thing and always be sure of a loving welcome.

    Thanks for the review and the giveaway!

  2. I think I need to read this one — somewhere along the way I lost my joy in life (I see glimpses of it now and then so I know it’s not totally gone).

    As to how I see God in my father or father-figure…hmm, that’s a toughie. I know my Daddy loves me regardless of my imperfection which are many even when he doesn’t verbalize it. Right now I see God or Jesus more in my husband than anyone else (remember all the talk about Jesus being the groom and the church the bride?).

  3. I really appreciate your reviews, Chautona. This book sounds like a beneficial read.

    So many characteristics of my Heavenly Father are found in my earthly Daddy, two of the biggest would be patience and endurance. He taught me to be “steady” and patient with myself and with others and to have the endurance to keep going, even when the going is tough.

  4. My dad embodied Matthew 25:34-45. He was a psychiatric nurse who worked with day patients and I grew up not realizing it was a strange thing that people with psychiatric issues could/would drop by our house to talk, to get a warm meal, to get a ride, to get bus fair and my dad would help them every single time. He was not a church goer but he actively lived out helping the helpless and feeding the hungry.

  5. My father is diligent.

    However, I have had a difficult relationship with him and that relationship very much clouds my relationship with God.

  6. My Papa had a great heart and was always reaching out to others…we have more at family gatherings than are in our family! My father God has always been here for me with an out stretched and loving arm.

  7. My dad passed away 7 years ago, but he was the most patient person I have ever known. This is the attribute that reminds me of my heavenly father.

  8. My father passed away in 2005. He was a super kind man who was always helping others. I think that it is the greatest attribute that my Dad had. I still miss him greatly.

Leave a Reply

