Book Review: Bootcamp For Lousy Housekeepers *WIN COPY!*


Title: Bootcamp for Lousy Housekeepers

Author: Heidi Schapp

Publisher’s Synopsis: You’re buried under piles of unfolded laundry. You can’t set the table because all your dishes are dirty. You need to dust, but every countertop is covered in newspapers and last month’s unpaid bills. Every drawer in your home is a junk drawer. Does this sound familiar? Do you want to manage your home better, but just don’t know where to start? Bootcamp for Lousy Housekeepers is the book that can help you transform your home from “messed” to “blessed” in a month (or less!) and keep it clean FOR GOOD!

Drill Sergeant Heidi Schaap teaches you what to clean, how often to clean it, how to maintain your newly-cleaned home and more!

Ok, so this is a topic near and dear to my heart.  After all, I have another blog where I try to remember to keep a daily journal of my “weight loss through housework” progress.  In addition, my daughters were actively involved in the finishing of this book!  My daughter Braelyn took the cover photo while my daughter Kaylene posed trying hard to look like a mean drill sergeant while she wanted to laugh.  That’s just how those things go don’tcha know.

This book was inspired by the old fashioned notion of a day’s work for each day of the week.  Ma Ingalls and her “Wash on Monday…” and so forth.  So, it shouldn’t be a surprise when you open it up and find the week broken up into neat and tidy days for the reader to do her work.  There’s a laundry day, a town day, a garden day… you get the picture.  Chock full of forms, ideas, and even a reminder to polish those shoes (as every good Drill Sergeant would do), Heidi has created a book that’ll kick your butler into shape!

This book also comes with lots of hands-on help.  The author, Heidi, has a helpful BLOG where you can keep up with the daily chores, ask questions, and get new tips for making your home run as smoothly as meringue in a mixer on baking day.

As helpful as it is, this book isn’t for everyone.  If you struggle with thinking ‘organizationally’ you might need a lot of help in how to implement the program.  What is easy for one person isn’t always clear and understandable to another.  Look at the book previews, see the samples, and ask questions.  However, if you just need a book to help you organize your work and get it done, this might just be the book for you.  Caveat:  The book will help you plan and organize it.  I am very disappointed to discover that it doesn’t work like house elves and do the work while you sleep.

I bought a digital download for review purposes and as a giveaway.  I want a hard copy for my library because, after all, my kids are involved and I’m a mom.  I need a hardcopy!  However, I wanted to give someone else a chance at this marvelous book.  The book will be permanently deleted from my computer once I know the winner has received it, so Heidi isn’t going to lose a penny!  No worries!

Leave a comment and tell me the one job you love and the one you hate to be entered into the free drawing for this exciting book!  (Well, as exciting as you can get over housework!)

41 thoughts on “Book Review: Bootcamp For Lousy Housekeepers *WIN COPY!*

  1. Job I like…hmm. Umm…well, hmm. I know there is one…sure. Let me get back to you on that… 😀

    Okay, seriously, I love planning menus and grocery shopping. I also like to fold laundry.

    What I hate…Putting away laundry!! Oh, how I hate to put away laundry. Fortunately, that’s a job for my children now. 🙂

    I would LOVE to win a copy of this book so I can participate in the HK challenge! 🙂

  2. Love is a relative word. It’s definitely love compared to how much I hate my HATE job.

    Ok, love to vacuum and sweep. I definitely don’t have any problems there.

    Hate hate hate washing toilets and bathrooms. And hate hate hate grocery shopping. Hate it. It’s really really hard for me to go. I always try to get Kristy or Anthony to pick stuff up.

    I don’t mind doing laundry, but I dislike folding and putting them away. Ugh.

    ok, looking forward to winning the book! *grin*

  3. hmmm, I love having it ALL done… just getting there is my problem. I love the way Heidi gives helpful tips, like the order things can be done to make them painless.

    HATE dishes…. don’t mind laundry – well, washing/folding. Can’t seem to find a place to put it all away.

  4. I hate cleaning the bathroom. Ugh.

    I loved to vacuum until my favorite bestest vacuum cleaner ever died. It was a sad, tramatic day.

    I love to clean the kitchen and make it shine.

  5. I was one of Heidi’s guinea pigs for testing her book. Loved it! Unfortunately, I didn’t continue putting into practice what she taught — need to get back at it. One nice thing to remember it is adaptable. I tend to do laundry on a daily basis, so my Laundry Day became the day I did sheets and other big items that didn’t get washed often plus the daily load of clothes. I highly recommend you try her system at least for 3 months. Get the book — seriously, it will help if you implement what she teaches.

  6. I LOVE doing dishes. Probably because it involves hot water and I am always cold *giggle*

    I don’t mind doing laundry, but I hate putting it away. Ugh!! (which is why it is piled on top of my dresser more often than not. *sigh*

  7. I love doing laundry… there is absolutely nothing better than folding warm, fluffy clothes and putting away stacks of freshly laundered, neat and orderly clothing. Unfortunately, it never stays that way for more than a day!!! I DESPISE scrubbing the shower… so much so that I rarely ever do it… only when my mother is coming to stay!!!! Oooohhhh… I’ve never posted on a blog before… Heidi’s book made even *me* figure out blog commenting… it’s GOTTA be good!!! Carmen 🙂

  8. I love washing dishes, but really *don’t* love drying them!

    I love cleaning my bathroom, but really *don’t* love scrubbing my shower!

    I love vacuuming, but for some reason really *don’t* love doing the stairs.

    And what do I HATE? The process of trying to clean and organize my basement!! It’s such a big project and I feel like I just don’t have the time after trying to keep up with everything else. I’ve wanted this book since the moment I heard about it! Random number thingy…….PLEASE pick me!!!!

  9. Oh… housework.
    As odd as it will sound I love cleaning the bathroom.
    I love the smell of pinesol 🙂
    We live in an old farmhouse and sometimes it doesnt seem like its clean even when your done. (old houses tend to dirty themselves, very dusty)
    But I love a clean bathroom! Ahhhh.
    Laundry is my nemesis, Actually its the folding and putting it away.
    We dont have enough closets in this old farmhouse, and our dressers are in need of replacement.
    But I am thankful that we have a washer and dryer 🙂

  10. I enjoy doing laundry, or organizing a space like a desk or chest of drawers or whatever.

    I dislike dishes, hate cleaning the fridge, and am lousy and general picking up and putting away. *blush*

  11. OH OH! Pic me, pick me!

    Love- sweeping the floor. I love seeing how much dirt I can find and discard. Blush.

    Hate- toilet/bathroom cleaning

  12. About the only part of running a home that I really like is Cooking.

    What I don’t like? Pretty much every thing else.

    That’s why I need this book. Because all of the stuff that I don’t like is sitting there needing to be done…

  13. I love…. okay, to be honest… I’m not sure there is much I actually love about housekeeping!

    What I especially don’t like is scrubbing toilets!

  14. I like washing floors. Yet I don’t do it enough cause there’s almost always a small pair of feet running around and when there’s not, then they’re in bed and DH is home and walking around. I don’t like putting away laundry. To my right is a chair full of laundry spilling all over the floor. I need to go get to it. I really need this book because I’ve been struggling to get into a habit of keeping up with everything for more than a few days at a time.

  15. The one chore I love to do is sweeping our kitchen floor…….I feel ready to cook and create when I have a clean floor. The chore I hate is our never ending laundry pile…..I just can’t seem to get a system down for this one.

  16. I like grocery shopping, cooking and ironing. I do not like the daily tidying up that. Would love to win this book, as we are on a budget and I fear that there is so much clutter in house that someday my kids will be embarassed of it.

  17. The one job I love is laundry. SO easy to do with a washer and dryer. 🙂
    I hate nightly “prepping” for the next morning. 😦 But yet I have to do it or my mornings are too rushed and crazy. I’m always thankful the next morning that I did it, but each night I dread it.

  18. I love doing laundry. It excited me to make my clothes smell fresh and clean. HE washers add to the glory, lol.
    One job I despise is DISHES. Even with a dishwasher. I can’t keep on top of them.

  19. Well, let’s see: I “love” *snort* most aspects of laundry, and doing dishes. I heartily dislike vacuuming and cleaning the bathtub 😀

  20. I hate it all!! Well maybe not hate but certainly not good at any of it anymore! When I was much younger I had 3 boys and a full time job and did not have too much trouble…kept routines and liked vac and dust most I guess. Now with just a little girl and full time job, just cant keep up! Maybe the book would help!

  21. I like to organize things, but don’t always have time to stay on top of it. I don’t mind vacuuming, but my 9 year old son now does the vacuuming. I dislike matching socks and changing wet sheets. Also, although I can keep up with the dishes that go in the dishwasher, I struggle to keep up with the pots and pans, sharp knives, fragile things and the other random “hand wash” items. I’d rather clean the toilet than the shower. Weird, huh?

  22. Hmmm… I am not sure I can say that I love any jobs around the house, but I am okay with laundry. I hate vacuuming though… hate, hate, hate it. I have permanently put it on my husbands to do list or it would never happen.

  23. Hmmmm, I need this

    I love a clean house. LOL
    I hate having to do it…

    Ok I love cleaning the bathroom counters
    I hate sweeping.

  24. I love to cook. I enjoy cooking old fashion country cooking for my family. I can’t stand all the junk in the house that needs to be gone through and got rid of or find a home for it.

  25. I love how my house looks with everything picked up and put away. I hate cleaning…it’s as if I only have energy for the picking up and not the deeper cleaning.

Leave a Reply

