Book Review: 40 Loaves *** Win a FREE COPY***


Title: 40 Loaves

Subtitle: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day

Author: C.D. Baker

Publisher’s Synopsis: “Why don’t I have more faith?”
“Why am I so bored with Jesus?”
“Why are Christians so hard for me to like?”

There are many questions we’re not supposed to ask when playing by the religious rules. It makes people uncomfortable. So why is it that Jesus invited questions and even asked some of them himself? What is it that you’re afraid to ask God? It’s a risky prospect to begin asking–but far riskier to continue simply trying to get by without knowing. Author C. D. Baker asked himself 40 soul-searching questions which started a conversation in his heart and ultimately showed him more about God than He ever expected.

Can we become more honest with who we really are and find who God says He really is at the same time? Come indulge yourself in daily readings with an honest exploration of your secret fears and thoughts, and know that you will always be welcomed in God’s unconditional love.

When I saw the title of this book and the blurb about “Daily Readings to Renew a Hungry Spirit“, I almost declined to review this book.  Not because I don’t want to renew my spirit on a daily basis, but I usually find devotional books to be a little insipid for my taste.  However, C. D. Baker as the author intrigued me, so I signed up for it eagerly.  I couldn’t wait to see if Mr. Baker could entice me as few others ever have.  He did.

The first day’s reading starts with “Why do I want Jesus in my life?”  I almost crossed my eyes when I read that, trying to understand what kind of question it was.  However, as I read the entire reading, I got it.  Mr. Baker is right.  The kind of Jesus that we sometimes create in our minds is not exactly the kind of Jesus that inspires us to desire to be with Him.  This paragraph directly from the book describes it well.

“Many of us have only ever been shown a Performance Jesus– a “carrot and stick” Jesus.  On the one hand, this Performance Jesus doles out blessings if we toe the line, and on the other, he’s ready to strike us hard for disobeying.  He’s a daunting presence that we need to either appease or avoid.

Most of us know people like that…

We call them abusers.”

Ouch.  He’s right.  This entire book is full of similar questions.  I don’t know if any of his responses were unbiblical, I didn’t finish it before writing this.  It was so good, I wanted to write the review immediately.  I do have one problem.  One very serious problem with this book.  It isn’t long enough.  Forty days is nice, but I’d rather have three hundred sixty-five or more…

The best part of this book, in my opinion, is that it isn’t just another ‘devotional book’.  He really is addressing tough questions with Biblical truths that relate to every one of us.

I  have a copy, generously provided by WaterBrook, to give away.  I’m not giving away my copy.  I plan to keep it around for a long time.

So, leave a comment to be entered, and tell me… what question do you wonder in your Christian walk?  I’ll reply to each one and let you know if he addresses it or something similar.

Meanwhile, buy the book.  Seriously, buy. the. book.  And buy one for a friend.  And don’t forget your sister in Duluth.  Oh, and the struggling young mother at church.  Don’t forget your neighbor!  Oh, and the garbage man.  😉  Can’t forget the garbageman.  He probably could use some encouragement after long days in those stinky trucks.

22 thoughts on “Book Review: 40 Loaves *** Win a FREE COPY***

  1. I don’t even think I could pick one question. I have so many. I have struggled terribly with my faith and my walk in the last season or two, and I am trying to learn how to be faithful again. This looks like a wonderful book for renewal.

    • I see several that might fit your comment, but since I don’t know the source of it, I’m not sure which one to pick. I’d be sure to pick one that didn’t apply and insult you instead! 😉

      I think it’d be a nice gentle way to see things with fresh eyes, though.

  2. You have surely made me curious about such a book! I generally share your thoughts about devotional books (though I do have a couple that I LOVE!)

  3. How can you know that you know that you’re on the right track? I mean, is it truly enough to simply believe and receive? And how do you know you’ve truly received when you still have so much ugliness in your life?

Leave a Reply

