Book Review: The Sound of Sleigh Bells *WIN FREE COPY*


Title: The Sound of Sleigh Bells

Author: Cindy Woodsmall

Publisher’s Synopsis: Beth Hertzler works alongside her beloved Aunt Lizzy in their dry goods store, and serving as contact of sorts between Amish craftsmen and Englischers who want to sell the Plain people’s wares. But remorse and loneliness still echo in her heart everyday as she still wears the dark garb, indicating mourning of her fiancé. When she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth’s soul responds and she wants to help the unknown artist find homes for his work–including Lizzy’s dry goods store. But she doesn’t know if her bishop will approve of the gorgeous carving or deem it idolatry.

Lizzy sees the changes in her niece when Beth shows her the woodworking, and after Lizzy hunts down Jonah, the artist, she is all the more determined that Beth meets this man with the hands that create healing art. But it’s not that simple–will Lizzy’s elaborate plan to reintroduce her niece to love work? Will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she’s always dreamed of and a second chance at real love–or just more heartbreak?

Oh my word.  What a huge blessing this book was for me.  So much wisdom, such a tender story, even the romance appealed to me in a way that it rarely does.  I felt the heartache of Beth and guessed its source.  I loved how Mrs. Woodsmall managed to show the weaknesses and humanity of the Amish without feeling the need to portray them in an excessively negative light.

It seems that modern Christian fiction likes to romanticize the Amish as though they’ve attained a higher plane of Christian existence where sin is limited to wanting to wear skirts an inch or two longer or shorter than the Bishop likes.  Swinging the pendulum to the other side, other authors try to ignore the beauty within the Amish lifestyle and root out deep evil as though the Pennsylvania or Ohio hillsides are deep dens of Amish iniquity that resemble an inner city in their criminal activity.  Cindy Woodsmall created real people, with real problems, who happen to be Amish.  It was refreshing.

I want to meet these characters– they’re that real to me.  I want to see Jonah’s carvings and cup Beth’s face in my hands and encourage her to heal.  I want to buy one of those carvings to remind me of lessons learned in reading this book.

Buy the book.  Read it.  Then read it again.

And don’t forget to comment– I’ve got a HARDBACK copy to give away thanks to Waterbrook’s generosity.  Not only did they provide the book that I reviewed, but they also provided one for me to give away to my readers.  I’ll be doing a drawing for several of these books on Friday.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sound of Sleigh Bells *WIN FREE COPY*

  1. OOH OH! I have one but I have someone that would love this as a Christmas gift. Or Maybe if I win I can choose who to send it too?

    Did you read her other series? Oh my so good!

  2. I have a friend who is smitten with her books so would love to win, read, and find out for myself if they are as good as you and her say!

  3. I LOVE Cindy Woodsmall! The first book I read of hers was so different from any other Amish work. She has a unique writing style.

    Lisa

  4. I love books that deal with things outside the mainstream culture. From the publisher’s description, this sounds like it would be a great read, and a window into Amish life.

Leave a Reply

