Banner du Monthe~


Don’t mock the pidgin French.  Snort.

So, this month I wanted something summery… something a bit picnic-y.  So, I went hunting.  I went to all my favorite sites.  After much searching, I ended up back at this lovely French site.  Yep, you read that right.  French.  These scrap designers are amazing!  I love everything I’ve purchased from Digital-Crea and recommend them highly.  Don’t forget to check out their freebies.  They’re amazing!

Anyway, I was flipping through pages, trying to find the ultimate thing when I ran across this!  Aren’t the colors just delicious?  I was aching to make strawberry shortcake just looking at the kit.  The papers are dreamy, the elements are excellent (but I have to warn you, the word art is in French so if foreign words on your digi-pages bug you, then don’t buy it for the word art.  Snort.  I can’t believe how much fun I had playing with this.  The chicken wire, the sunflower, and the little butterfly all called to me and said, “Please use me!  I wanted the lady bug, the little red butterfly, and the stamped paper too, but you can’t use everything.

I must admit that making this month’s banner was easier to feel successful.  I don’t know if it was because I had more practice last month, if this month’s kit was easier to begin with, or if some odd combination of the two and then some other unknown elements that combined to create this month’s banner.  However, I will say, I think it’s better.  It seems more polished somehow.  It has a broader use of the elements included in the kit and yet I think I managed to keep it from being excessively cluttered.  Actually, I think it reminds me of my favorite decorating.  Every accent piece placed exactly where it should go in order to maximize the artistic effects without over cluttering the entire piece.  I left plenty of open space for the eye to rest.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I’ve created the “perfect banner”.  Far from it.  I’m sure I’ll learn more as I go along, but these little banners are such good practice.  All in all, comparing July to August, I’m quite pleased with my improvement.

As for Digital-Crea, do go stop by, download their freebie du jour/monthe (whatever it is) and check out the website.  Treat yourself to a nice kit for those pictures you’ve been meaning to scrap.  Maybe you took the kids berry picking… I know this great kit…  A Countryside Spirit by Fanette.  I can recommend it without reservation!

Leave a Reply

