Banner Blogging~


Well, today was an interesting day.  I created my July blog banner and eagerly ran over to look and see how it looked.   The cool picture that looked so neat on istock looked hideous on my banner.  Three istock credits wasted.  I’m so dish-illusioned (name that movie.)  So I sat and stared for a bit and then realized that I should be using some of the amazing digi-scrap elements and papers that I have.  Of course, this is July and in this month we celebrate my birthday and the birthday of our country.  I don’t have any Americana digi-scrap elements.   Uh oh!

Off I ran to Google them.  My brilliant friend Kim informed me that the best way to find what I want is to look for forums where people have asked.  So I go do that.  Nada.  However, being a kind as well as brilliant friend, she pulled up a pile of suggestions for me and I hurried over to Sweet Shoppe Designs to see what I could see.  And LOOK what I found!  Isn’t it coolified???

The designer is Dani Mogstad and I love quite a bit of her things.  I like how she provides enough to do a clean look but not so simple that it is boring either.  It seemed to have a nice balance to me.

An interesting thing I found, however, is that designing on a 720×180 pixel canvas is much more difficult than a 12×12 inch page!  MUCH more difficult!  However, it’ll be good for me.  I don’t usually have trouble making pages that I like.  Most others might find them sparse or aesthetically unappealing but for me, I like them and that’s good, right?  Gulp.  Well, I’m finding that doing this banner was harder so I think I’m going to make this a regular thing each month.  It’ll challenge my creativity and every year on my birthday I can do a blog post showing how I’ve grown, matured, and improved as a “scrapper” in the blog banner design realm.  Snort.

In addition to that, I’m going to showcase the work of the designer(s) whose elements and papers I use.  What a fun way to give them a ‘thumbs up’ for all their hard work.  Do visit their shoppes.  See what they have to offer… splurge and buy a kit or three.  But after you do, USE IT.  Don’t just file it away for ‘later’… grab a few pictures from your memory card and DO somethign with it.  Your family will thank you one day.  Forget that, YOU’ll thank you one day.

Leave a Reply

