Spring Fever~


Have you noticed that I’m a bit um… er… well… obsessed with cleaning right now?  All of my posts either directly or indirectly are influenced by my current dirt and clutter eradication frenzy.  I am truly amazed at how much work I have actually been able to accomplish… until I remember that what I’ve spent almost two weeks doing, I once could have done in a day- if I took a lot of breaks that day.  That gets a little discouraging but hey.  It’s life, isn’t it?

Now I know that in the northern climes, the calendar may say ‘first day of Spring, March 20, 2009’ but your thermometer didn’t get that memo.  Here, we’re in our extremes.  We get almost to the 70’s during the days but end up in the thirties and forties at night.  So, spring is here.  Pretty soon the gorgeous desert wildflowers will dot the landscape, the creosote will burst into bloom, and those with allergies will be miserable while I’ll be in heaven.  That’s almost cruel, isn’t it?

Oh well, back to the cleaning.  I remember reading a book by Don Aslett.  In it, he stated that we shouldn’t need to do spring and fall housecleaning these days.  Our homes don’t get covered with soot all winter and then need a thorough once over again before closing it up for the winter again like it used to be.  I agree.  Seriously, we shouldn’t need it.  I know my mom never did “spring” or “fall” house cleaning.  She just kept a clean and clutter free house.  Period.  Of course, she had one child and a husband who were gone all day.

For me, it comes natural.  I don’t even think about it.  Last night, my Kaylene talked to me while I worked on another bookshelf in my room, and then an hour or so later, caught me scrubbing at the stove top.  She gave me a funny look and said, “No offense mom, but what’s with all the cleaning?”  I hadn’t really thought of it until then but she does have a point.  If I was pregnant, Kevin would be filling up the tank, sending kids to the store for food, and asking if my bag was packed.  If I was staying home, he’d be asking me who is coming to help.  That might be because with the last baby, I kind of forgot to line up help.  Oops.  Praise the Lord for good friends and neighbors who are good friends and who can still look me in the eye after being exposed to my nether regions and guttural screams.  But, that’s for another day.

Spring and fall house cleaning are instinctive to me.  Without fail, I automatically find myself doing them at just about those times of the year.  I pull things off shelves, dust, put half back, get rid of half of what is left, and put the other half where it should have been in the first place.  I replace worn out things, repair broken things, and find something to make each room feel fresh and homey.  I like homey.  It’s me.  Thought you oughtta know.

Spring Fever has hit… And my house and life are are better for it.

Leave a Reply

