On the First Day of December…


I woke up.

Pretty impressive eh?  I’m off to make a 40’s dress, iron the “tree skirt” and then put PRESENTS under the tree.  Do you have any idea how much I LOVE presents?  I love thinking about what’d bless the socks off someone.  I love choosing the perfect paper, ribbons, and wrapping it within an inch of it’s box!  I love wondering if the recipient can guess what I got.  If they’ll love it as much as I loved giving it.  I love presents!

I’ve often wondered where I got this deep need to give.  I LOVE to give.  I love even more giving anonymously.  There is nothing more marvelous than the sheer joy of letting others see how much they mean to us by putting a token of our affection in a package and wrapping it up to delay that gratification just a bit.  Have you ever noticed that this is one area where we still delay gratification?  Gift bags tried to make it easier but it’s still a delay.  We hold off the final receipt of a gift for as long as possible.  I think it’s beautiful.

Like many people who just love to give, I have a hard time receiving.  Why is that?  According to “Love Languages” theory, I should love getting gifts as much as I love giving them but really, it makes me uncomfortable.  Why is that?  I know I’m not the only one like me.  I’ve met many people who love to give and feel awkward to receive.  Why is this?

I do know that a few years I realized my FAVORITE way to receive though, is when I can open something on MY terms.  (how selfish is that?).  I really have a hard time being in the center of attention as I open it.  It’s miserable for me.  If something arrives in the mail and I get to just open it when I have a moment to really enjoy it, it’s so fun to be the recipient.    I love that feeling of “Wow, how did they know…”  but when I’m on ‘display’ and feel on the spot, it’s an entirely different situation.

Isn’t that weird?

One thought on “On the First Day of December…

  1. Sure its weird. Thats what makes us Havigs! or ex-Havig in my case. 😉

    Love your post. Its what I was trying to write in mine. Yours is better put. 😉

Leave a Reply

