In Everything…


Give thanks.

Everything?  It’s so much easier to give thanks for the, well, easy things.  It’s easy to be thankful for a good job, great family, nice house and cars, clothing, friends- the list goes on seemingly indefinitely.  What about other things?

This year I am purposing to be thankful for…

  • President-elect Obama.  God may use him to do great things in this country.  I disagree with him on nearly everything but no one is out of God’s reach.
  • Economic recession.  It is easy to be thankful for blessings when they are many.  When things get tighter, people learn true heart-felt gratitude for every blessing.
  • Hard work.  I know I’m feeling better when I can do it!
  • Disagreement.  It is an opportunity to examine myself, ensure my own standards and convictions, and embrace how different God made each of us.
  • Persecution.  I have tried to learn to embrace the little bits of persecution I’ve endured in my life.  They’re so pathetic compared to real persecution but they do make me appreciate a country where we still do have religious freedom.  This may not always be true.  I need to appreciate it while it is.

There are so many things like this that I need to remember to be thankful for.  I need to be thankful in ALL THINGS… not just the ones that inspire immediate feelings of gratitude.  I am a child of the King.  A child of the King of kings.  I am blessed beyond measure.

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

