Your Life: As a theme song- name that tune


I’ve been trying to think of the “Theme song of my life” ever since I created this contest for my Fairbury Blog.

Without a doubt,  until about fifteen years ago, I definitely would have said Johnny Cash’s “I’ve Been Everywhere.”

However,  since I’ve lived in the same house for 20 years now, I’m thinking that perhaps it’s time for something different.

I thought of things that personify me.  I’m married to the best man ever.  I have nine GREAT kids.  I have two adorable bestekids.  I’ve had a fairly easy life.

Part of me thinks Roger Miller’s “It Takes All Kinds to Make a World” would be appropriate since I’m so weird but the line “I’m the kind of guy hard luck sure gives a whirl” doesn’t fit.

Every song I come up with seems to fit just one part of my life.

I finally chose 160 Acres.  In my opinion it personifies contentment and if there is one thing I am, it’s content with my life.  I am so very blessed.

I got a hundred and sixty acres in the valley
Got a hundred and sixty acres of the best
Got an old stove there that’ll cook three square
And a bunk where I can lay me down to rest.

Up at dawn to greet the sun
I’ve forgotten what a care or worry means
Head for home when day is done
With my pocket money jinglin’ in my jeans.
I’ve got a hundred and sixty acres full of sunshine
Got a hundred and sixty million stars above
Got an old paint hoss, I’m the guy who’s boss
On the hundred and sixty acres that I love!

Up at dawn to greet the sun
I’ve forgotten what a care or worry means
Head for home when day is done
With my pocket money jinglin’ in my jeans.

I’ve got a hundred and sixty acres full of sunshine
Got a hundred and sixty million stars above
Got an old paint hoss, I’m the guy who’s boss
On the hundred and sixty acres that I love!
Got an old paint hoss, I’m the guy who’s boss
On the hundred and sixty acres that I love!

Leave a Reply

