Graduation= Commencement


You know the old drill.  People graduate and have “Commencement” exercises.  Beginnings.  New directions.  For the homeschool mom, nothing could be more true.

Alas, I must confess, I didn’t realize the full impact of that until yesterday morning.  Saturday Morgann asked for a “High School Transcript.”  I didnt’ do one of those for Challice.  I had her records, of course, but I didn’t summarise it in a transcript.  There was no need.  Morgann had a need.

I pulled out my Homeschool Tracker software and went to work.  I cringed.  I cried.  I wanted to scream.  (I hadn’t used it the whole time she was in high school so we’re talking a huge undertaking- or so I thought.  I considered crying, but it’s just not my style.

So, I decided to save time and just create my own in Word.  A few tables and voila.  We’d be sitting pretty.  I decided to get an online picture so that I could be sure of the best placement for all my cells and such.  I found this.  Home School High School Transcripts.

I’ll be honest.  When I saw the title, I almost didn’t click.  Too often things billed as “for homeschoolers” or “by homeschoolers” are folksy and unprofessional.  I was prepared for disappointment but I thought if it showed an example, I could still create my own, so I clicked.  The cost was low and it sounded more professional than I had expected.  The example shown looked perfect and the “customizable” thing sold me.  I mean, 12 dollars to save me an hour or two was WORTH it.  Especially since time was of the essence.

Why am I impressed?

  • I received my document QUICKLY (less than 30 minutes after purchase)
  • My question was answered promptly and courteously even though in my haste to ask it, I was a bit terse.
  • It was easy to use even for this Excel-challenged mom.

*Note to the other Excel-challenged moms of the homeschooling realm.  Don’t delete rows until you’re all done.  Thought you oughtta know.

Buy it.  Use it.  Love it.  Ahh.

Leave a Reply

