Education vs. Schooling~


“What’s the difference?” you say.  Well, I’ll tell you.  Nothing- and everything, depending on who you are and what you’re doing.  For some, they’re synonymous.  Some school and happen, in the process, to educate.  Others, however, educate, they don’t school. 

 

My definitions. 

 

School:  v.  To teach or train.

 

Educate:  v.  to develop the faculties and powers of (a person) by teaching, instruction, or schooling.

 

We all school our children when we “home school.”  Do we educate?  I confess, I generally school.  This year, I want to educate. 

 

Which would be more successful and interesting to you as a person.  Being schooled in something or being educated?  I’d rather be educated.

 

For example.  To school a child in Early American Colonial History I can fork over a book and say, “Read it and we’ll have a test on Wednesday.”  There is nothing wrong with schooling my children this way.  It’s no sin, and frankly, sometimes it is necessary.  However, if I can EDUCATE them… if I can whet their appetite not only for the basic facts but for truly understanding life at that time, their goals, their passions….  As a student, which would make the process more interesting and which would likely produce a lifetime interest in the general topic of history?

 

That’s my goal this year.  Education, not merely schooling as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

