Thanksgiving


Anticipation.  Games.  Beauty.  Delicious food and tantilizing scents.  History.  Love.  Family.

Thanksgiving day is one of my favorite days of the year.  It’s a laid-back day of relaxing, reflecting, and anticipation.  Our Christmas celebrations begin today in a lazy round-about way.  We’ve already taken our annual trip to K-mart for their annual Game Sale.  Every year we buy a new game, replace old worn ones or ones with lost pieces, and snag a bit of wrapping paper.  We don’t often shop at K-mart so this is always a  lot of fun for us.

The turkey is slow-roasting in the oven.  With my health problems, this year our pies are Marie Callander’s.  Razzleberry and Pumpkin.  How could you have Thanksgiving without pumpkin.  The Hungarian Coffee Cake is “sweating” in the aluminum foil.  There is no peppermint bark or almond bark this year.  I couldn’t do it.  Oh well.

The children are playing “Pirates of the Carribbean Life”.  The general good-natured arguements over whose turn it is and who took whose life-tiles are en force.  I want to pull out my hair but they’re enjoying it.

Once I get some rest, I plan to dust off the upper shelves in the Living Room and spread the poly-fil “snow” in anticipation of the little holiday village we put up there.  I’ll hang the garland over the doorway to the kitchen and I’ll set out my cardinal.  Might even hang the stockings!

Braelyn and I played Battleship.  I’ll challenge Kevin to a game in a while.  Around five-thirty we’ll start on the rest of dinner.   We’re having…

Turkey

Stuffin’  (Cornbread cause there really isn’t any other kind in my book)

5 kernels of corn

Green Beans

 Mashed Potatoes

Rolls

Cranberry Sauce

Rolls

Of course dessert is

Hungarian Coffee Cake

Razzleberry Pie

Pumpkin Pie

I sit here and look around our home at our healthy children.  Jenna is safe, no lasting ill-effects from her injury in January and even the scar is hardly visible.  Little Euphemia was born safe and healthy and as awful as labor always is, Challice had a reasonably easy time of it.  Challice’s infection is gone and is home and their hospital bill is mercifully tiny. 

And, with all of the things I have gone through with my health, the doctor says my heart is perfectly healthy.  I can get up and move around even if it wipes me out without doing damage to my body.  As hard as it is to be able to do so little, being able to do anything at all without being concerned about it is a huge blessing.  I’ll have a Pulmonary Function Test on Monday.  The doctor says he thinks I have asthma or bronchitis.  As blechy as that would be, I’m thankful my heart isn’t damaged.

It’s been a good year.  A hard year, but a good one.  We’ve grieved for the loss of little Knox but God has shown himself faithful.  We’ve rejoiced in Melissa Snow’s improvement and are hurting at the news of their Anna’s tumor.  My heart is heavy as I watch Mary Leggewie suffer through her illness.  I still pray daily for Linda in OZ as she is dragged through the courts of Australia.  But it has still been a good year.  God is faithful- we are thankful.

Praise God from Whom all blessings flow.

Praise Him all creatures here below.

Praise Him above ye heavenly host.

Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost.

AMEN!

 

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. HA — too funny… I put the doxology on my blog this morning as well. What is that saying… great minds think alike? I don’t think it’s true — your mind is much greater than mine!

    Did you do Pioneer Woman’s cornbread stuffing? I didn’t… but I thought about it.

    So — what was your suggestion for her new photo? $500 gift card… that’s amazing to me… her blog must generate a TON of $$ from her adds… C.R.A.Z.Y.!!

    Happy Thanksgiving Chautona! May God Bless You This Day!

Leave a Reply

