Redefined Hymns~


We sang this hymn in church today… as I sang it, I realized it is entirely appropriate for wives to sing about their husbands just as it is for the church to sing about Christ.  (I know, novel idea isn’t it?)

“I do Not Come Because My Soul”
by Frank B. St. John

1. I do not come because my soul
Is free from sin and pure and whole
And worthy of Thy grace;
I do not speak to Thee because
I’ve never justly kept Thy laws
And dare to meet Thy face.

                      *

2. I know that sin and guilt combine
To reign o’er every thought of mine
And torn from good to ill;
I know that, when I try to be
Upright and just and true to Thee,
I am a sinner still.

                      *

3. I know that often when I strive
To keep a spark of love alive
For Thee, the powers within
Leap up in unsubmissive might
And oft benumb my sense of right
And pull me back to sin.

                        *

4. I know that, though in doing good
I spend my life, I never could
Atone for all I’ve done;
But though my sins are black as night,
I dare to come before Thy sight
Because I trust Thy Son.

                         *

5. In Him alone my trust I place,
Come boldly to Thy Throne of grace,
And there commune with Thee.
Salvation sure, O Lord, is mine,
And, all unworthy, I am Thine,
For Jesus died for me.

 

 Watch what happens when a few words are changed to be a song sung by a loving wife to her husband.

“I do Not Serve Because My Heart”
 

1. I do not serve because my heart
Has never felt a painful dart
That flew from your own hand;
I don’t appeal to you because
I’ve ever justly kept His laws
And on my own merit stand. 

                     *

2. I know that sin and guilt combine
To reign o’er every thought of mine
And thus dishonor you;
I know that, when I try to be
True and loving constantly,
I fail at all I do .

                     *

3. I know that often when I strive
To keep a spark of love alive
For you, my self within
Leaps up in unsubmissive might
And oft benumb my sense of right
And pull me back to sin.

                      *

4. I know that, though in doing good
I spend my life, I never could
Thank you for all you have done;
But though my flesh screams for my rights,
I honor you as belov’d knight
For you’re my only ‘one’.

                      *

5. In Him alone my trust I place,
While we both run life’s daring race,
To claim the prize together.
Joint heirs He promised we will be,
Though faults in both of us we see,
Through Him they’re gone forever.

My whole attitude about serving, honoring, respecting, and loving my husband is improved when I realize how not just my actions but my attitudes need such improvement.  If I am to serve and love my husband ‘as unto the Lord’ then my actions should show it. 

A question for myself.  If my love and service for my husband was a barometer for my love of the Lord, what would it say about me?

Leave a Reply

