Entitlement Mentality Permeates


A strange thing happened to me today.  I discovered that no one is immune to the effects of the entitlement mentality that runs rampant in modern America.

 

My example?

 

I went to Charlie’s Grilled Subs.  I LOVE their subs and after my debacle with the SS people (Social Security was given the right initials you know… Nazis every one of em.  ) I decided a treat of Charlies was in order.  The helpful girl at the counter asked if I had my ‘7 card’.  I quickly pulled it out but found to my dismay that the one side of it had torn away where the punches had occured.  See, at our Charlies (and I presume others) if you buy seven sandwiches, and they punch them on their little cards, they give you one free as a ‘thank you’ for being a good customer.

 

I was disappointed.  Six sandwiches were punched… just one more to go.  This one would give me my free sandwich but noooooooooo the sides ripped off.  All those sandwiches purchased were lost.  However, the lady was very nice.  She showed me that she could tell which ones were purchased and she’d just repunch a new card for me.  I was excited.  This meant that with the one I’d just purchased, my next one is free!  WAHOO!

 

She handed me the card back and the one empty sub that had been left on the old one was still left.  She hadn’t counted today’s.  I started to ask but just felt odd and didn’t.  I mulled my reticense to ask.  Why not just say, “The old card only had one left… and I just bought one.  Shouldn’t all of these be punched now or did I misunderstand?”?

 

However, I didn’t.  Whatever kept me back, well… it was right.  As I walked to my van, I realized why I was bothered.  I had an entitlement mentality.  I felt entitled to that free sandwich because I’d purchased enough to get one.  Their free gift as a ‘thank you’ had become a right in my mind.  How very sad.  I’ve always been against that kind of thinking but it creeps into every aspect of our lives when we aren’t looking.

 

  • Sales.  The store runs a sale on light bulbs, 100 for a dollar.. and if they run out we demand a raincheck.  After all, they offered them so we DESERVE to get them.
  • Price Matching.  We feel obligated not to have to drive as far to another store when the local one was so nice as to offer to price match… but woe to those who don’t offer the service.
  • Benefits.  Because some employers found the need to offer benefits such as insurance, retirement, and vacation back in the late fifties and early sixties, we now feel like they OWE us these things when actually, we agree to hire on at x amount.  They owe us NOTHING but the hourly wage/salary that they promise the day they hire us.  IF we get a raise… it is a BONUS.. it is not something we are entitled TO.

So… I will admit, there is one thing that EVERYONE is entitled to.  Hell.  How come no one is demanding THAT right?

Leave a Reply

