Have You Had to Choose…


Between what is right, and what is easy?

 

That is a line from a movie I saw yesterday.  Excellent line.  I love it.  It reminds me of the line in The Winslow Boy.  “It is easy to do justice; it is hard to do right.”

 

I love these one liners that remind us of great spiritual truths.  The first quote reminds me of the scripture in the Gospels where Jesus warns His disciples that ‘narrow is the way and few there be who find it’.  It isn’t going to be easy.  Universalism while very ‘touchy feely’ is not possible according to that simple reminder.

 

The second quote reminds me of when Jesus is speaking in the Sermon on the Mount.  He says repeatedly, “You’ve heard it said, but I say to you”.  The ‘you’ve heard it said’ part is the justice… but Jesus is calling us beyond simple justice to doing RIGHT.  I love it.

 

I often choose what is easy.  I’m lazy.  I admit it.  I’m not especially proud of it perhaps but the fact is, I do choose the ‘easy route’ as often as possible.  This can be a good and wise thing to do.  There certainly is no great virtue in doing something the most difficult way possible just because you can. 

 

When you compare what is right… with what is easy… that is another story.  For a young child, they might be confronted with missing cookies.  Lying would be the easy thing.  It’s over.  “No, I didn’t eat the cookie mom!”  But, confessing is hard.  Confession requires taking responsibility.  Listening to lectures.  Making restitution.  Confession is rarely easy… but it is always right.

 

As a mom, it might mean that I not overlook a fault in my child and work on retraining it.  As a home manager it might mean that I retrain my ’employees’ in how to do a job better or do something myself because they aren’t ready for the job yet.  As an educator it might mean that I teach something rather than just ‘help them’ learn it.  And as a wife, it might mean that I have to do something I don’t enjoy to ensure that my husband has something he does.  Maybe like grocery shopping.  Sigh.

 

Choose between what is right… and what is easy.  Ouch.

Leave a Reply

