To God Be the Glory!


Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. (Philippians 4:8)

My daughter and I were having a conversation the other day. She told me about a sermon she’d heard that discussed how quick we are to believe things that are bad and accept them as a part of life, but when something good happens, when someone says, “The Lord did such and such for me,” we grow skeptical and are wary. The conversation is still swirling in my mind. Why do we do that? Why are we so quick to accept the bad, the negative, the ugly? Why can we so easily see Satan’s hand in the evil of this world, but when something lovely, encouraging, or good happens, we don’t expect it to last, we hesitate to see the Lord’s hand, or we see it as a curse in blessing’s clothing.

Philippians tells us we’re not supposed to do this. We think on what is true. If something good just happened, it’s TRUE. No amount of skepticism will change the truth that the good occurred. Commendable, excellent… praiseworthy… who do we think we are to spit on the blessings of God? Who do we think we are to pull the, “The devil made me do it” when bad things happen because of our own sinfulness, but when a blessing occurs, the Lord doesn’t get the credit? He’s God Almighty. ALMIGHTY. How can we have the audacity not to give Him the glory?

Don’t get me wrong. I know we don’t always do this, but I think Braelyn was right. It happens enough though, that a preacher had to write a sermon about it and the facts of it resonated with us. I’m a pretty positive person. I tend to assume the best of people, tend to think things will work out in the end, and while I love to tease about Murphy, his “law,” and its effect on people today, the fact is, I really do expect things to go pretty well most of the time.

So, why then am I so slow to give God the glory He deserves?

*now THERE is a case where I can say deserves and not cringe!*

One thought on “To God Be the Glory!

Leave a Reply

