Craft Challenge: Week Four Results


Week 4- Paper

Erm.. yeah.  See, remember, I don’t have a huge paper craft mess yet.  I’ve just gotten started in this gig, so we’re good, right?  Yeah.  Well, see this picture…

One thing I learned in this process is that those drawers and I don’t mix.  Nope.  No way, no how.  Ain’t happenin’.  You see, in those drawers, I have to pull everything out, look at it, think about it, and then put it all back.  It’s not exactly conducive to efficient crafting.  Sure, it’s easy to put away… but it’s horrible to get out.  The point isn’t to hoard paper– it’s to use it for cryin’ out loud! BTW… if you have a paper collection that is collecting dust, reread that italicized sentence again.  Once a week if necessary!

So, those drawers had to give up the paper.  That’s good, because I’m thinkin’ that’d be a GREAT spot for… yep, you guessed it (work with me here)… RUBBER STAMPS!  YIPPEE!

Yes, you too can have an amazing rubber stamp collection in nice little drawers designed for paper!

So, what did I put my paper in instead of those drawers?  Well, first I took all paper (including the stupid Martha Stewart ones with the over sized pads that didn’t fit in drawers) and tore them all out of any books, packaging, etc and separated by colors and patterns

I had the following color sets:

  • Pink/Red
  • Blue
  • Green
  • Purple
  • White/Tan/Yellows/Black
  • Mixed

I separated all the printed first and put them into stacks.  Then I separated the solids and put them behind the printed in each color set.  Now I was ready to put them in my new container.  Here’s the funny part.  Sunday night, I didn’t do my usual prepare for this week’s crafting.  Dumb move.  I was knee deep in formatting and editing my book and was too engrossed to think about the fact that Monday I was going to be where you can actually buy stuff for this kind of project.  So, I got down to the LA area and had a wealth of products at my fingertips… and didn’t know what this week’s challenge was.  I thought it was paper, but I wasn’t sure.  I looked at several options, but since I didn’t realize I was coming home to DO it… I didn’t buy anything.  Dumb.

So, today I opened up the challenge, checked out the job, and sighed.  Then, I got to work.  I moseyed over to Wal-Mart… nothing grabbed me.  Staples had lots of options, but nothing fit 12×12″ paper.  EEK.  Then, just as I was ready to give up, I found these things on the clearance rack!

There are three racks in each one.  I bought both of the ones that our Staples had and have begged my internet buddies to do a search at their stores to see if I can get two more.  Right now, my two are not packed to the gills, but they are reasonably full.  I want to have matching things for later if I get more.

Now, my room and such is all white.  That black isn’t going to cut it, so I need to figure out how to cover it.  What do you think?  How should I cover it?  Find contact paper?  Paper mache?  Cloth?  Any ideas out there?

Here is my paper in its new home.  I think it looks happy, don’t you?

Now, I have to figure out what to do with my 8.5 x 11″ paper.  I don’t have a lot now, but I am going to have more as I do more card making.

Any suggestions?

Now, all I have to do is make it pretty (cover it somehow– off to do research for ideas for that) and decide on the 8.5 x 11″ paper.  Since it’ll likely be mostly solids, I’m seriously considering putting it in an accordion file and leave it at that.  We’ll see.  Meanwhile, share your ideas.  All I know is that I want VERTICAL storage.  Horizontal and I don’t match.

Leave a Reply

