Craft Challenge~


So, I was trying to avoid work tonight and happened across this blog

She has twenty-nine (that’s 29!!!!) weeks of scrapbook supply organization.  I don’t know if I’ll need every single week, but that’s ok, that week can either be a week off OR… I get to move along faster.  I assume some weeks will take more time and others less, but hey, that’s good.  In the process, I’m thinking that it’ll be fun to actually use things that I have once I have an easier time knowing how to find everything.  So, I’m going to try it.  I may find out that it’s not for me after all, but it’s pretty impressive.

First, I’m going to list every post about it here so that I have my own ready reference.  My intention is to blog about my success or failure for each week’s task as well.  Just because I can.  Who knows if I’ll actually do it.  I find that every time I think I’ll start a blog series, I fail.  So, I’ve been trying to create the series FIRST and then start posting.  Yeah, you’ve seen how successful that is too.  But hey, I’m going to try.

Craft Organization Challenge

Overview

Week 1-  Space Audit

Week 2-  Brainstorming

Week 3-  Start Small or Go for Broke

Week 3-  Bonus for Overhaulers

Week 4- Paper

Week 5- Scrap Paper

Week 6- Photo Organization

Week 7- Ideas

Week 8- Projects and UFOs

Week 9- Embellishments

Week 10-  Alphas

Week 11- Stickers & Rub-ons

Week 12- Ribbons & Fibers

Week 13-  Stamps

Week 14- Cropping Supplies (This is what she’s calling “your take it with you when you work with friends” kit)

Week 15- Ink Pads & Embossing Supplies

Week 16-  Paints, Glitters, & Stickles (whatever that is)

Week 17- Punches

Week 18-  Tools

Week 19- Chipboard

Week 20- Die Cuts

Week 21- Pens & Pencils

Week 22- Dies (no, this isn’t what happens to you if you do all this!)

Week 23-  Templates

Week 24- Memorabilia

Week 25- Negatives

Week 26- Two Part Week.  (1) How are you going to keep it clean and (2) Organizing Albums

Week 27- Fonts

Week 28-  Card Storage

Week 29-  Make it Pretty

One thing she puts in every single post is her list of “rules of organization.”  I thought they were excellent so I’m sharing them now.  Please note, these rules belong to the brilliant blogger at “My Love Affair with the Label Maker” and not mine.

1. Label your containers.
2. Be consistent in your methods.
3. Don’t be too specific – your search for your items within your space should be short and simple.
4. Your organizational method should be easy to take out AND put away.
5. When organizing, break any large piles into smaller groupings. Have a 2 foot tall stack of paper to sort? Do it in 1″ high chunks, it will be easier to handle mentally.
6. If it’s something that you use on almost every project, then keep it within reach of your main scrap area.
7. Don’t stress your containers. Get a new system or purge your stash.
8. For most items, product packaging adds bulk. Toss it. One exception – rub ons.
9. Repurpose when you can – almost anything can be painted or covered in paper/fabric.
10. THE GOLDEN RULE – FIRST choose an organizational method, THEN choose a container that fits your space and style. Always shop for containers with a list in hand – a beautiful container is simply clutter if it doesn’t have a dedicated purpose in your space!
I figured out (after going through the entire thing) that this blog is ONLY about this challenge so I can’t tell you that there are any great other things there, but maybe she’ll come along and add other fun stuff for us organizational junkies.

The whole thing has me spinning wondering if I could do something similar with my sewing gear.  If I do it, I’ll let you know.

2 thoughts on “Craft Challenge~

  1. Pingback: Cleaning Up My Act « Paradoxology

Leave a Reply

